Back to Top

2019 AAEA Annual Award Winners

2019 Fellows

2019 Appreciation Clubs


Undergraduate Student Section Awards

  • Academic Bowl: Louisiana State University (Colt Hardee, Erynn Heffley, Whitney McKinzie)
  • Outstanding Paper Competition: Alexander Hildreth, Louisiana State University; and Elizabeth Thilmany, University of Maryland
  • Outstanding Chapter Award: Iowa State University (Advisors: Amy Brandau and Ron Deiter)

Graduate Student Section Awards

  • Graduate Student Case Study Competition
    • Winner – Kansas State University with Chelsea Arnold, Kaitlyn Dinges, and Christina Stander
    • Second Place – Purdue University with Emiliano López Barrera, Sofia K. Vielma Delano, and Jeremiah Stevens
    • Third Place – Michigan State University with April Athnos, Simone Faas, and Megan Bellinger
  • Graduate Student Extension Competition: Hannah Shear, Kansas State University, Mentor Dustin Pendell; Whitney Bowman, Kansas State University, Mentor Dustin Pendell; Amber Roberts, University of Minnesota, Mentor Joleen Hadrich

Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award:
Santa Felicita Rosario de Jesus, Virginia Tech; Hanna Ruder, Kansas State University; and Robert Thompson, Mississippi State University

Honorable Mentions: Ari Kornelis, Michigan State University and Angela Sweeney, University of Guelph

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation:
Ellen Bruno, University of California, Davis; Tamma Carleton, University of California, Berkeley; and David Wolf, The Ohio State University

Honorable Mention: Bixuan Sun, University of Minnesota

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Ten Years’ Experience: Kim Morgan, Virginia Tech
  • Undergraduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Christine Wilson, Kansas State University
  • Graduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Thomas Hertel, Purdue University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual: Less than Ten Years’ Experience: Alejandro Plastina, Iowa State University
  • Individual: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Glynn Tonsor, Kansas State University
  • Group: Brian Briggeman, Kansas State University; Phil Kenkel, Oklahoma State University; Keri Jacobs, Iowa State University; Greg McKee, University of Nebraska; and Michael Boland, University of Minnesota

Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis
Dermot Hayes, Iowa State University

Additional authors include: Edward Balistreri, John Crespi, Chad Hart, Minghao Li, Lee Schulz, David Swenson, and Wendong Zhang

Quality of Communication Award
Parke Wilde, Tufts University; Mary Marchant, Virginia Tech; and H. Holly Wang, Purdue University

Additional authors include: Yuqing Zheng, Dallas Wood, Jason P. H. Jones, Farzad Taheripour, Wallace E. Tyner, James Hansen, Wei Zhang, Jason Grant, Amanda M. Countryman, Andrew Muhammad, Yangxuan Liu, John R. C. Robinson, and W. Donald Shurley

Quality of Research Discovery Award
William Masters, Tufts University; Prakarsh Singh, Amherst College

Publication of Enduring Quality Award
Michael Carter, University of California, Davis and Christopher Barrett, Cornell University

Honorable Mention: Thomas Reardon, Michigan State University

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award:
Tim Richards, Arizona State University

Honorable Mentions: Andrew Crane-Droesch and Matthew Anderson, Julian Alston, Philip Pardey, Aaron Smith

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy Article Award
Brenna Ellison, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and Jayson Lusk, Purdue University

Outstanding Choices Article
Farzad Taheripour, Purdue University; and Wallace E. Tyner, Purdue University

Honorable Mention: Amanda M. Countryman, Jason Grant, James Hansen, Jason P.H. Jones, Yangxuan Liu, Andrew Muhammed, John R.C. Robinson, W. Donald Shurley, Farzad Taheripour, Wallace E. Tyner, Wei Zhang, and Yuqing Zheng

Anthony Grano Scholarship
Amber Roberts, University of Minnesota

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship
Vincenzina Caputo, Michigan State University

Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship
Sendhil Ramadas, ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research

Chester O. McCorkle Jr. Student Scholarship
Louis Sears, Cornell University

AARES-AAEA Young Professional Exchange Program

  • Heading North Award: Saeideh S. Khosroshahi, Latrobe University