Back to Top

Applied Economics Teaching Resources

The Applied Economics Teaching Resources (AETR) is a new, online, peer-reviewed publication series. The aim of this publication is to be an outlet for teaching and extension education scholarship, case studies, classroom games, and other teaching/educational resources (e.g. experiential learning, pedagogy, etc.) that advances and supports the betterment of teaching, experiential learning and extension education in the field of applied economics, agricultural economics, agribusiness, and related fields.

The new series fills a teaching gap in current AAEA publications and wider profession. In fall 2017, AAEA convened a task force named by the Agribusiness Economics and Management (AEM) and Teaching, Learning, and Communication (TLC) sections. The task force prepared a report that initially focused on finding a long-term home for case studies by and for applied economists. The group soon recognized that the need was wider, embracing a growing set of classroom games and other interactive learning innovations. To capture the wider scope, the series was named Applied Economics Teaching Resources.

The publication will be online and open access through Agecon Search. All submissions to the publication will be peer-reviewed and held to the high standards exhibited in the agricultural economics profession. The scope of the journal extends to teaching and education contributions and materials for K-12, undergraduate and graduate education, as well as extension and adult education. AETR will seek contributions of:

  1. Teaching and Extension Education Scholarship and Research;
  2. Teaching and Educational Innovations in the Classroom and the Field (e.g. Classroom Games, Online Teaching Tools, Extension Applications, Experiential Learning Activities, and other interactive learning innovations);
  3. Case Studies in all areas of agricultural and applied economics; and
  4. Teaching and Education Commentaries (i.e. notes on pedagogy, evaluations of teaching effectiveness, educational methodology, etc.)

The inaugural editor is Dr. Jason Bergtold from Kansas State University. The journal will have an editorial board consisting of five AAEA members from AAEA sections on Agribusiness Economics and Management (AEM); Teaching, Learning, and Communications (TLC); and at large. The publication will be distributed through AgEconSearch, with a target launch date for the first issue in spring 2019. It is anticipated that authors will be able to track impacts through both anonymous, open-access downloads on AgEconSearch and controlled access to instructor downloads of teaching notes.

The first call for submission to AETR is expected in Fall 2019. By this time, guidelines for submissions to the publication, review guidelines, and author guidelines will be available. Please keep checking back for more updates.

Submitting to AETR

  • TBD

Electronic Access to AETR

  • TBD

AETR Editor

Jason Bergtold (2018-2022)
Kansas State University

AETR Editorial Board

Mariah Ehmke
University of Wyoming

James Sterns
Oregon State University

Sierra Howry
University of Wisconsin – River Falls

Michael Wetzstein
Purdue University

Kenrett Jefferson - Monroe
North Carolina A & T University

Rodney Jones
Oklahoma State University