Back to Top

Galbraith Award

The Galbraith Commemorative Project of the AAEA Trust. The project is part of the larger initiative commemorating outstanding agricultural economists who have made significant contributions to humanity through their leadership, research and achievements. The Project was launched in 2003 in Montreal, Canada. The first meeting was dedicated to Galbraith and his work and included tributes by Derek Bok, James Galbraith, Gordon Rausser and Willard Cochran.

Galbraith’s capacity to integrate scholarship with statesmanship, and his unparalleled record of achievements in research, education and public service, embody the spirit and aspiration of agricultural economists. Galbraith’s outstanding achievements demonstrate that agricultural and applied economics are effective launching pads for research and for policy careers that address all ranges of social issues, and have impacts on societal thinking and global policy.

AAEAs aim with this award is to recognize scholars and leaders who, like J.K. Galbraith, possess a record of intellectual leadership with service to the nation and the world.

Previous Speakers & Award Winners

Year Winner
2024 Catherine Wolfram, MIT
2023 Jayati Ghosh, University of Massachusetts
"Hunger and Global Finance: What is the link?"
2022 Robert S. Pindyck, MIT
"Population, Productivity, and Sustainable Consumption"
2021      Gita Gopinath, International Monetary Fund (IMF)
"Dominant Currency Paradigm in International Economics"
Dani Rodrik, Harvard University
"Did Globalization Fail Us?"
David Card, University of California, Berkeley
"Model-based and Design-based Approaches in Empirical Microeconomics"
Paul Romer, New York University
"The Causes and Consequences of Rural-Urban Migration"
Dan Ariely, Duke University
"The Honest Truth About Dishonesty"
Alain de Janvry, University of California, Berkeley
"The Adoption Puzzle: What Can We Learn from Field Experiments in Agriculture?"
Anne Case, Princeton University
Is 50 the new 80? Taking the measure of mid-life health and wellbeing"
Jean Tirole, Toulouse School of Economics
"Intellectual Property and Public Policy”
Martin Weitzman, Harvard University
"Why is the Economics of Climate Change so Difficult and Controversial?"
Daron Acemoglu, MIT
"Why Nations Fail"
Martin Ravallion, World Bank Organization
"Growth and Poverty Revisited"
John A. List, University of Chicago
"Using Field Experiments in Agricultural and Environmental Economics"
Angus Deaton, Princeton University
"Growth, Food, and Nutrition in India"
Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University
"The Challenge of Building Trust to Solve Dilemmas of the Commons"
Sir Partha Dasgupta, St. John's College, Cambridge
"Sustainable Development and the population-Environment-Poverty Nexus"
Kenneth Arrow, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy
"Private Affluence and Public Squalor"
2005 Michael Porter, Harvard University
2004 Jospeh E. Stiglitz
2003 Allan Randall, Susan Offutt, John Schnittker, Gordon Rausser, James Galbraith, and Derek Bok