Back to Top

2022 AAEA Annual Award Winners

2022 Class of Fellows

  • Keith Coble, Mississippi State University
  • Craig Gundersen, Baylor University
  • Rudy Nayga, Texas A&M University
  • Ashok Mishra, Arizona State University
  • Brian Roe, The Ohio State University
  • Melinda Smale, Michigan State University

2022 Appreciation Club

  • Thomas Reardon Appreciation Club, Michigan State University

2022 AAEA Awards

Outstanding Master's Thesis Award
  • Emil Kee-Tui, The University of Arizona
    Labor, Credit, and Markets: Evidence from the Philippines, 1971–2016
Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award
  • Anne Byrne, Cornell University
    Consumer Use of Food Bank Services: Questions of Timing and Value”

Honorable Mentions

  • Adam Theising, University of Wisconsin
    “Essays on the Economic Valuation of Air, Water, and Climate Pollution”
  • Gabriel Englander, University of California, Berkeley
    “Empirical Essays on Natural Resource Exploitation”
Distinguished Teaching Awards:
  • Less than 10 years
  • 10 or more years', Undergraduate
  • 10 or more years', Graduate

Less than Ten Years’ Experience

  • Elizabeth Yeager, Kansas State University

Undergraduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience

  • Mike Ellerbrock, Virginia Tech

Graduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience

  • William Nganje, North Dakota State University
Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards:
  • Less than 10 years' experience
  • 10 or more years' experience
  • Group

Individual: Less than Ten Years’ Experience

  • Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, Texas A&M University

Individual: Ten or More Years’ Experience

  • Brian Whitacre, Oklahoma State University.


  • Food Industry Management Group, Cornell University

Honorable Mention    

  • Jennifer Ifft, Kansas State University
Bruce Gardner Award
  • Jayson Beckman, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Jeremy Jelliffe, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Felix Baquedano, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Maros Ivanic, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Sara Scott, USDA-Economic Research Service
    Farm to Fork and Biodiversity Strategy

Honorable Mention:

  • Andrea Carlson, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Elina Page, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Christopher Lowe, USDA-Economic Research Service
  • Mark Denbaly, USDA-Economic Research Service
    “Estimating Prices for Foods in the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey: The Purchase to Plate Price Tool”
Quality of Research Discovery Award
  • Aminou Arouna, AfricaRice
  • Jeffrey D. Michler, The University of Arizona
  • Jourdain C. Lokossou, Université Laval
    “Contract Farming and Rural Transformation: Evidence from a Field Experiment in Benin”
Quality of communication Award
  • Yan Bai, The World Bank Institute
  • Robel Alemu, Tufts University
  • Steven Block, Tufts University
  • Derek Headey, International Food Policy Research Institute
  • William Masters, Tufts University
  • Hannah Ritchie, Our World in Data
  • Anna Herforth, The Conversation
    Cost and Affordability of Nutritious Diets at Retail Prices: Evidence from 177 Countries”
AAEA Mentoring Award
  • Stephen Devadoss, Texas Tech University
Publication of Enduring Quality Award
  • Jayson Lusk, Purdue University
  • Ted Schroeder, Kansas State University
    “Are Choice Experiments Incentive Compatible? A Test with Quality Differentiated Beef Steak”
Outstanding AJAE Article
  • Jeffrey Dorfman, University of Georgia
  • Wenying Li, Auburn University
    Intrahousehold Economies of Scale with Application to Food Assistance and Work Incentive Programs”
Outstanding AJAE Reviewers
  • Joshua D. Merfeld, Korea Development Institute
  • Joseph Janzen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Tongzhe Li, University of Guelph
  • Pengfei Liu, The University of Rhode Island
Outstanding AEPP Article
  • Eric Edwards, North Carolina State University
  • Todd Guilfoos, University of Rhode Island
    The Economics of Groundwater Governance Institutions across the Globe”
Outstanding Choices Article
  • Jayson Lusk, Purdue University
  • Brandon McFadden, University of Delaware
    "Consumer Food Buying During a Recession”
Outstanding AETR Article
  • Babtunde Abidoye, London School of Economics and The University of Pretoria
  • Sahan T.M. Dissanayake, Portland State University
  • Sarah A. Jacobson, Williams College
    Seeds of Learning: Uncertainty and Technology Adoption in an Ecosystem-Based Adaptation Game”

Honorable Mentions

  • Katherine Lacy, University of Nevada
  • Todd Sorensen, University of Nevada
  • Eric Gibbons, The Ohio State University
    “Government Cheese: A Case Study of Price Supports
  • Brian K. Coffey, Kansas State University
  • Andrew Barkley, Kansas State University
  • Glynn T. Tonsor, Kansas State University
  • Jesse B. Tack, Kansas State University
    “How Do Students Allocate Their Time? An Application of Prospect Theory to Trade‐offs between Time Spent to Improve GPA Versus Time Spent on Other Activities”
Presidential Recognition Award 
  • Laurian Unnevehr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Anthony Grano Scholarship
  • Rebecca Weir, University of Minnesota
  • Ashling Murphy, Kansas State University
Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship
  • Nusrat Akber, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University
McCorkle Scholarship
  • Zhengliang Yang, University of Idaho
Uma Lele Women's Scholarship
  • Babita Kathayat, ICAR-National Dairy Research Institute
Sylvia Lane Fellowship
  • Xuan Wei, University of Florida
AAEA Trust Travel Grants  
Academic Bowl Winners
  • First place: Louisiana State University
  • Second place: Clemson University
Outstanding Paper Competition
  • First Place-Mimi Rivette-LSU
  • Second Place-Josie Nasekos-Mississippi State University
Earl O. Heady Spreadsheet Competition
  • First place-Westin Cobb-LSU
  • Second Place-Josie Nasekos-Mississippi State University
Outstanding Chapter Club
  • Iowa State University
Outstanding Creative Club
  • Iowa State University
GSS Policy Communications Competition
  • First Place-Alicia Young-Oklahoma State University
  • Second place was a tie!
    Elizabeth Thilmany-University of Maryland
    Jack Long-Oklahoma State University
Case Study Competition

  • First Place-Edeoba Edobor, Carlos Zurita, and Taylor Thompson-Purdue University
  • Second place-Alex Hopkins, Kelsey Hopkins, and Hanna Carlson-Michigan State University
  • Third place was a tie!
    Mounta Dahal, and Peter Saval-University of Georgia
    Zach Uter, Alex Chase, and Casey McNichols-University of Minnesot
Extension Competition
  • First place-Hannah Baker-Oklahoma State University
  • Second place-Kelsey Hopkins-Michigan State University
  • Third place-Gerald Mashange-Kansas State University