Back to Top

2020 AAEA Annual Award Winners

2020 Fellows

2020 Appreciation Clubs


Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis Award
John Hoddinott, Cornell University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual: Less than Ten Years’ Experience: Becca Jablonski, Colorado State University
  • Individual: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Maria Marshall, Purdue University
  • Group: Matthew Stockton, Daran Rudnick, Chuck Burr, and Robert Tinger, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less than Ten Years’ Experience: Amanda Countryman, Colorado State University
  • Undergraduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Larry DeBoer, Purdue University
  • Graduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Lilyan Fulginiti, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

  • Alexandra Hill, University of California, Davis
  • Jonathan Proctor, University of California, Berkeley
  • Maulik Jagnani, Cornell University

Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

  • Andrew Swanson, Montana State University
  • Ethan Sabala, Texas Tech University
  • Gabriella Sorg, University of Minnesota

Honorable Mentions:

  • Emma Gjerdseth, University of California, Davis
  • Susana Constenla Villoslada, Cornell University

Publication of Enduring Quality Award
Wiktor Adamowicz, University of Alberta; Peter Boxall, University of Alberta; Michael Williams, Intelligent Marketing Systems; and Jordan Louviere, University of South Australia

Quality of Communication Award
Farzad Taheripour, Purdue University; Thomas Hertel, Purdue University; Navin Ramankutty, University of British Columbia

Quality of Research Discovery Award
Edward Perry, Kansas State University; Federico Ciliberto, University of Virginia; GianCarlo Moschini, Iowa State University

Honorable Mention: Nelson Villoria, Kansas State University
"Technology Spillovers and Land Use Change: Empirical Evidence from Global Agriculture"

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award
Jeffrey D. Michler, University of Arizona; Emilia Tjernström, University of Wisconsin; Simone Verkaart, Wageningen University; Kai Mausch

American Journal of Agricultural Economics Outstanding Reviewers Award (NEW)

  • Sabrin Beg, University of Delaware
  • Conner Mullally, University of Florida
  • Eric Njuki, USDA-ERS
  • Klaas van't Veld, University of Wyoming

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy Article Award
Daniel Millimet, Southern Methodist University; Ian McDonough, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Outstanding Choices Article
James A. Sterns, Oregon State University

Honorable Mentions: Yuri Clements Daglia Calil, Texas A&M University; Luis Ribera, Texas A&M University

Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Association
Robbin Shoemaker, USDA-NIFA (Retired)

Extension Grad Student Competition

  1. First Place:  Katie Wilts, University of Minnesota. Mentor: Joleen Hadrich
  2. Second Place: Molly DelCurto, Montana State University.  Mentor: Kate Fuller
  3. Third Place: Jose Enrique Velasco Ortiz, Purdue University. Mentor: Ariana Torres

Honorable Mention: Elena Chin, University of Arizona.  Mentor: Russell Tronstad

*NEW* AAEA Mentoring Award
Cesar Escalante, University of Georgia

Anthony Grano Scholarship
Katherine Wilts, University of Minnesota; Betty Thomas, Mississippi State University

Chester O. McCorkle Jr. Student Scholarship
Ethan Sabala, Texas Tech University

Luther G. Tweeten Scholarship
No award given this year

Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship
Varun Miglani, Deemed University

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship
Alexandra Hill, Colorado State University

AARES-AAEA Young Professional Exchange Program
Leah Palm-Forster, University of Delaware

Early Career Professional and Graduate Student Travel Grants
None were given this year due to the cancellation of the in-person annual meeting