Back to Top

George Goldman Award for Excellence in Regional Economic Development


George Goldman (1935-2018) was an early founder of what is now the Community and Regional Economics Network. He made several contributions to the field of applied regional economic analyses and was especially influential in guiding the interpretation and use of input-output studies and multipliers.


This section award will honor an outstanding application of regional economic analysis including but not limited to: input-output studies, fiscal impact studies, and other applied quantitative analyses. Award nominations should emphasize both the research and outreach/extension innovations associated with the project. This rubric shares the criteria used to evaluate nominations.

Award Rules and Selection Process:

  1. Interested individuals will submit a journal article, Extension publication, report, or program that was published in the previous three years accompanied by a one page letter describing the impact of the project by email to the CRENET Chair ( no later than February 4, 2024.
  2. Recipients may win the award more than once but not in consecutive years.
  3. Both students and faculty are encouraged to apply but applicants should be signed up for CRENET's mailing list and be a CRENET member through AAEA.  Extra points will be assigned to those who have been active CRENET members of the past few years
  4. Submissions can be self-nominated or nominated by someone external to the project.

Nominations are due by February 4, 2024 to Kelsey (Conley) Thomas (email submissions preferred) at


The awardee will receive the honor (including a cash award) at the 2024 AAEA CRENET meetings in New Orleans, LA and an honorable mention may also be selected if our pool and quality of nominations is strong.

Previous Award Winners

In 2019:

  • Winner: Alison Bauman and Dawn Thilmany McFadden of Colorado State University (Exploring Localized Economic Dynamics: Methods-Driven Case Studies of Transformation and Growth in Agricultural and Food Markets)
  • Honorable Mention: Anil Rupasingha, John Pender, and Seth Wiggins of USDA’s Economic Research Service (USDA’s Value-Added Producer Grant Program and Its Effect on Business Survival and Growth)