Back to Top

2010 AAEA Annual Award Winners


Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Association

  • Spiro Stefanou, Pennsylvania State University.

Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

  • William Allender, "Brand Loyalty and Equilibrium Promotion Strategies," Arizona State University. Thesis Advisor: Timothy Richards
  • Honorable Mention: Jude Bayham, "A General Equilibrium Analysis of Biofuel Market Policies," University of Idaho. Thesis Advisor: Stephen Devadoss
  • Honorable Mention: Christopher Rue, "Area Yield Crop Insurance Reconsidered (Again): An Empirical Analysis of Demand for Area Yield Insurance for Rice Farmers in Peru," University of California, Davis. Thesis Advisor: Stephen Boucher

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Kelly Cobourn, "Incentives for Individual and Cooperative Management of a Mobile Pest: An Application to the Olive Fruit Fly in California," University of California, Davis. Thesis Advisors: Rachael Goodhue and Jeffrey Williams
  • Honorable Mention: Sommarat Chantarat, "Pro‐Poor Risk Management: Essays on the Economics of Index‐based Risk Transfer Products," Cornell University. Thesis Advisors: Christopher B. Barrett and Calum Turvey
  • Honorable Mention: Gregory Colson, "Improving Nutrient Content through Genetic Modification: Evidence from Experimental Auctions on Consumer Acceptance and Willingness-to-Pay for Intragenic Foods," Iowa State University. Thesis Advisor: Wallace Huffman
  • Honorable Mention: Beat Hintermann, "Pricing Carbon: Allowance Price Determination in the EU ETS," University of Maryland. Thesis Advisor: Andreas Lange

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Hayley Chouinard, Washington State University
  • Undergraduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Kerry K. Litzenberg, Texas A&M University
  • Graduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Shida Henneberry, Oklahoma State University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual, Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Maria Marshall, Purdue University
  • Individual, Ten or More Years' Experience: John Lawrence, Iowa State University
  • Group: Steven Klose, Joe Outlaw, Greg Kaase, Natalie Outlaw, DeDe Jones, Jay Yates, Patrick Warminski, Jeff Pate Wade Polk, Mac Young, Jonathan Baros, and Candice Foster, Texas AgriLife Extension Service, Texas A&M University System; "Financial and Risk Management (FARM) Assistance"

Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis

  • Kym Anderson, University of Adelaide

Quality of Communication Award

  • David J. Spielman and Rajul Pandya-Lorch, International Food Policy Research Institute; Millions Fed: Proven Successes in Agricultural Development

Quality of Research Discovery Award

  • James N. Sanchirico and James E. Wilen, University of California, Davis and Martin D. Smith, Duke University; "The Economics of Spatial-dynamic Processes: Application to Renewable Resources." JEEM (January 2009) 57(1): 104-121

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • David R. Just, Cornell University and Travis J. Lybbert, University of California, Davis; "Risk Averters that Love Risk? Marginal Risk Aversion in Comparison to a Reference Gamble." American Journal of Agricultural Economics (August 2009) 91(3): 612-626
  • Honorable Mention: Timothy J. Richards and Luis Padilla, Arizona State University; "Promotion and Fast Food Demand." American Journal of Agricultural Economics (February 2009) 91(1) : 168–183.

Outstanding Review of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • Jutta Roosen, Technische Universität München, Germany; Stéphan Marette, Sandrine Blanchemanche, and Phiippe Verger, Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA); "Does Health Information Matter for Modifying Consumption? A Field Experiment Measuring the Impact of Risk Information on Fish Consumption." Review of Agricultural Economics (Spring 2009) 31(1): 2–20.

Outstanding Choices Article Award

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

  • Erik Lichtenberg, University of Maryland and David Zilberman, University of California, Berkeley; "The Econometrics of Damage Control: Why Specification Matters." American Journal of Agricultural Economics (May 1986) 68(2): 261–273

Eagle Award

  • Curtis F. Lard, Texas A&M University

Chester O. McCorkle, Jr. Student Scholarship

  • Brian Dillon, Cornell University

AAEA/AARES Young Professionals Exchange Program—Heading North Award Winner

  • Bronwyn Crowe, University of Western Australia

Graduate/Undergraduate Student Competitions

Graduate Student Case Study Competition

  • First Place: Kansas State University—Yue Zheng, Shonda Anderson, and Sandra Contreras Gomez
  • Second Place: Kansas State University—Graciela Andrango, Elizabeth Canales, and Jaeljattin Jaen
  • Third Place: University of Georgia—J. Wesley Burnett, M. Clarisse Ferrer, and Douglas Patton

Graduate Student Extension Competition

  • First Place: Gretchen Nurse, Colorado State University
  • Second Place: Lee Schultz, Kansas State University
  • Third Place: Mallory Vestal, Oklahoma State University

Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Awards

  • First Place: Haicong Lei, University of Alberta
  • Second Place: Johnna Rushin, Oklahoma State University
  • Third Place: Sadie Hoffman, Angelo State University

Academic Bowl Awards

  • First Place: University of Florida, Orange Team—John Lai, Stephen Morgan, and Jerrod Penn
  • Second Place: University of Florida, Blue Team—Celeste Sununtnasuk, Lane Register, and Felipe Martinez
  • Third Place: Texas A&M University, White Team—Matt Okeson, Anna Lee Allcorn, and Wilson Alarcon

Outstanding Chapter Award

  • Iowa State University, Advisors: William Edwards and Ron Deiter

Creative Club Award

  • Iowa State University, Advisors: William Edwards and Ron Deiter