Back to Top

2013 AAEA Annual Award Winners


  • Bruce Babcock
  • Jeffrey H. Dorfman
  • Scott H. Irwin
  • Keijiro Otsuka

Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Association

  • Kristin Ouweneel, AAEA Executive Director

C-FARE Recognition of Outstanding Service Award

  • Tamara Wagester, C-FARE Executive Director

Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

  • Francis Annan, Mississippi University, "Spatial Pattern of Yield Distributions:  Implications for Crop Insurance”, Thesis Advisor: Jesse Tack

  • Honorable Mention: Beau Olen, Oregon State University, “Irrigation Choices for Major West Coast Crops: Water Scarcity and Climatic Determinants”, Thesis Advisor: JunJie Wu
  • Honorable Mention: Kevin Ray, University of Arizona, “Can Desert Dwellers Continue to Afford Lush Lawns?:  Analyzing Consumer Response to Rate Changes in Four Phoenix Suburbs”, Thesis Advisor: Gary Thompson

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards


  • Lin Qin, Oregon State University, “The Economics of a Research Program: Knowledge Production, Cost, and Technical Efficiency”, Thesis Advisor: Steve Buccola
  • Honorable Mention: Xi Chen, Cornell University, “Essays on Social Networks:  Relative Concerns, Social Interactions, and Unintended Consequences”, Thesis Advisor: Ravi Kanbur

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Shannon Ferrell, Oklahoma State University

  • Undergraduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Ronald Hansen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Graduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Wallace Tyner, Purdue University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual, Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Brian E. Whitacre, Oklahoma State University

  • Individual, Ten or More Years' Experience: Derrell S. Peel, Oklahoma State University

  • Group: David Just, Brian Wansink, Kathryn Hoy, Adam Brumberg, Andrew Hanks, Sanrda Cuellar and Erin Sharp, Cornell University

Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis

  • William Masters, Tufts University

Quality of Communication Award

  • Charles Moss, University of Florida; Allen Featherstone, Kansas State University; Christine Wilson, Kansas State University, “Presenting the Financial Condition of Agricultural Using the Agricultural Resource Management Survey” Emerald Publishing Group, 2012.

Quality of Research Discovery Award

  • Metin Caker, University of Saskatchewan and Joseph Balagtas, Purdue University, “Estimating Market Power of U.S. Dairy Cooperatives in the Fluid Milk Market” AJAE (2012) 94 (3): 641-658.

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • Randal R. Rucker, Montana State University; Walter N. Thurman, North Carolina State University; Michael Burgett, Oregon State University, “Honey Bee Pollination Markets and the Internalization of Reciprocal Benefits Effects” AJAE (2012) 94 (4): 956-977.
  • Honorable Mention: Jason H. Grant and Kathryn A. Boys, Virginia Tech, “Agricultural Trade and the GATT/WTO: Does Membership Make a Difference?” AJAE (2012) 94 (1):1-24.

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives and Policy Article Award

  • Richard G. Frank, Harvard University, “Long-term Care Financing in the United States: Sources and Institutions” AEPP (2012) 34 (2):333-345
  • Honorable Mention: J. Edward Taylor, University of California; Diane Charlton, University of California; Antonio Yúnez-Naude, El Colegio de Mexico, ”The End of Farm Labor Abundance" AEPP (2012) 34 (4):587-598.

Outstanding Choices Article Award

  • Patricia Duffy, Auburn University; Fumiko Yamazaki, California State University; Claire A. Zizza, Auburn University, “Can the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010 Help Trim America’s Waistline?” Choices (2012) 27 (3rd Quarter).
  • Honorable Mention: Alessandro Bonanno, Wageningen University, “Food Deserts: Demand, Supply, and Economic Theory” Choices (2012) 27 (3rd Quarter).

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

  • Marc Nerlove, University of Maryland and Pietro Balestra, “Pooling Cross Section and Time Series Data in the Estimation of a Dynamic Model: The Demand for Natural Gas,” Econometrica, Vol. 34, No. 3 (July, 1966), pp. 585-612.

AAEA Trust Scholarship Awards

Chester O. McCorkle, Jr. Student Scholarship

  • Mariko Wijekoon, Clark University

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship

  • Leah Harris, Michigan State University
  • Kelly Lange, Virginia Tech
  • Christine Schroeter, California Polytechnic State University

Luther G. Tweeten Scholarship

  • Comlanvi Sitou Akibode, Michigan State University
  • Teevrat Garg, Cornell University
  • Asare Twum-Barima, University of California, Davis
  • Michael Mumford, Cornell University

AAEA/AARES Young Professionals Exchange Program—Heading North and Heading South Award Winners

  • Bethany Cooper, La Trobe University
  • David Ortega, Michigan State University

Travel Grants for Economists from Less Developed Countries

  • Mohammad Alam, Bangladesh Agricultural University, Bangladesh
  • Dileni Gunewardena, University of Perdeniya, Sri Lanka
  • Ezrah Trevor Rwakinanga, Ministry of Finance, Planning  and Economic Development, Uganda
  • Vincent Ngeno, Moi University, Kenya
  • Boniface Ngah Epo, Univeristy of Yaounde II, Cameroon
  • Eugenie Maiga, African Center for Economic Transformation, Ghana
  • Ismat Ara Begum, Bangladesh Agricultural University, Bangladesh

Graduate/Undergraduate Student Competitions

Graduate Student Case Study Competition

  • First Place: Cornell University—Dustin Baker, Justin Shepherd, and Jehiel Oliver
  • Second Place: Kansas State University—Will Callis, Marcus Brix, and Jon Brammer
  • Third Place: California Polytechnic State University—Chase DeCoite and Steven McLennan

Graduate Student Extension Competition

  • First Place: Becca Jablonski, Cornell University
  • Second Place: Michael Osei, South Dakota State University
  • Third Place: Katie DuBreuil, Virginia Tech

Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Awards

  • First Place: Sarah Prescott, University of Alberta
  • Second Place: Darcy Musick, Anglo State University
  • Third Place: Adam Hancock, University of Kentucky

Academic Bowl Awards

  • First Place: University of Florida-Blue—Perry Schweitzer, Keri Cornman, and Nury Dominguez
  • Second Place: USDA-Economic Research Services—Dara Novini, Elizabeth Westendorf, and Nicholas Walch
  • Third Place: Mississippi State University—Hunter Garnett, Joanna King, and Bryan Whittenton

Outstanding Chapter Award

  • University of Florida, Advisor: Jennifer Clark

Creative Club Award

  • West Texas A&M University, Advisor: Mallory Vestal and Lal Almas