Back to Top

2012 AAEA Annual Award Winners


Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Association

  • Julia Kelly and Louise Letnes, AgEcon Search

Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

  • David Kaczan, University of Alberta, “Designing an incentive program to reduce on-farm deforestation in the East Usambara Mountains, Tanzania,” Thesis Advisors: Brent Swallow and Wiktor (Vic) Adamowicz
  • Honorable Mention: Elizabeth A. Dobis, Purdue University, “A Sociodemographic Analysis of Health Care Utilization in the United States,” Thesis Advisor: Raymond J.G.M. Florax
  • Honorable Mention: Zachary Kaufman, Pennsylvania State University, “Agricultural Best Management Practice Adoption Decisions and Spatial Dependence in Southeastern Pennsylvania Farms and Watersheds,” Thesis Advisor: Jayson K. Harper

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Zachary Steven Brown, Duke University, “The Economics of Malaria Vector Control,” Thesis Advisor: Randall Kramer
  • Honorable Mention: Gulcan Onel, North Carolina State University, “Modeling Nonlinearities in Agricultural Factor Markets,” Thesis Advisor: Barry Goodwin

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Michael A. Gunderson, University of Florida
  • Undergraduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Stephen Devadoss, University of Idaho
  • Graduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Terry Roe, University of Minnesota

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual, Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Marco A. Palma, Texas A&M University
  • Individual, Ten or More Years' Experience: Thomas Stinson, University of Minnesota
  • Group: Tim Eggers, Robert Wells, and Kelvin Leibold, Iowa State University; Mary Sobba and Karisha Devlin, University of Missouri; Ruth Hambleton, University of Illinois (retired)

Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis

  • Joseph Herriges, Catherine Kling, Daniel Otto, and John Downing, Iowa State University; Kevin Egan, University of Toledo

Quality of Communication Award

  • Colin Carter, University of California, Davis; Ian Sheldon, The Ohio State University, “Genetically Modified Food and Global Welfare”
  • Honorable Mention: Wallace E. Huffman, Iowa State University; George Norton, Virginia Tech University; Luther Tweeten, The Ohio State University, “Investing in a Better Future through Public Agricultural Research”
  • Honorable Mention: John Baffes, The World Bank, “Cotton Subsides, the WTO, and the 'Cotton Problem'”

Quality of Research Discovery Award

  • John Antle, Oregon State University, “Parsimonious Multi-Dimensional Impact Assessment”
  • Honorable Mention: Richard E. Just, University of Maryland; David R. Just, Cornell University, “Global Identification of Risk Preferences with Revealed Preference Data”

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • Stacy Sneeringer and Nigel Key, USDA-Economic Research Service, “Effects of Size-Based Environmental Regulations: Evidence of Regulatory Avoidance”
  • Honorable Mention: Kira M. Villa, Christopher B. Barrett, and David R. Just, Cornell University, “Whose Fast and Whose Feast? Intrahousehold Asymmetries in Dietary Diversity Response Among East African Pastoralists”

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives and Policy Article Award

  • Craig Gundersen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Brent Kreider, Iowa State University; John Pepper, University of Virginia, “The Economics of Food Insecurity in the United States”

Outstanding Choices Article Award

  • Todd Kuethe, Jennifer Ifft, and Mitch Morehart, USDA-Economic Research Service, “The Influence of Urban Areas on Farmland Values”
  • Honorable Mention: Mary Ahearn, USDA-Economic Research Service, “Potential Challenges of Beginning Farmers and Ranchers”

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

  • Charles R. Knoeber and Walter N. Thurman, North Carolina State University, “Testing the Theory of Tournaments: An Empirical Analysis of Broiler Production”

AAEA Trust Scholarship Awards

Chester O. McCorkle, Jr. Student Scholarship

  • David Ortega, Purdue University

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship

  • Kathryn Boys, Virginia Tech
  • Mariah Ehmke, University of Wyoming
  • R. Karina Gallardo, Washington State University
  • Aine Seitz McCarthy, University of Minnesota

Luther G. Tweeten Scholarship

  • Julia Berazneva, Cornell University
  • Kepifri Lakoh, University of Nebraska
  • Romina Ordonez

AAEA/AARES Young Professionals Exchange Program—Heading North and Heading South Award Winners

  • Joanna Parks, Food and Drug Administration
  • Tess Stafford, University of New South Wales

LDC Travel Grant

  • Mohammad Alam, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Heman Lohano, Institute of Business Administration
  • Jacob Nunoo, University of Cape Coast
  • Patrick Okello, Uganda Bureau of Statistics (UBOS)
  • Mary Lubungu, Indaba Agricultural Policy Research Institute (IAPRI)

Graduate/Undergraduate Student Competitions

Graduate Student Case Study Competition

  • First Place: Kansas State University—Brady Brewer, Melissa Lynes, and Rebecca Manes
  • Second Place: University of Georgia—Virginia Allison, Kayla Calhoun, and Ganna Sheremenko
  • Third Place: Oklahoma State University—Trent Milacek and Johnna Rushin.

Graduate Student Extension Competition

  • First Place: Madilynne McGuire, Colorado State University
  • Second Place: Chris Chammoun, Texas A&M University
  • Third Place: Arun Adhikari, Louisiana State University

Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Awards

  • First Place: Nathan Schmitt, University of Georgia
  • Second Place: Zeke Bryant, University of Georgia
  • Third Place: Heather Hatzenbuhler, University of Georgia

Academic Bowl Awards

  • First Place: Iowa State University—Josh Sonnabend, Tory Mogler, and Andy Chamra
  • Second Place: University of Georgia—Heather Hatzenbuhler, Zeke Bryant, and Nate Schmitt
  • Third Place: University of Florida-Blue—Austin Gerber, Fanny Wong, and Perry Sweitzer

Outstanding Chapter Award

  • Iowa State University, Advisor: William Edwards

Creative Club Award

  • Angelo State University, Advisor: Sierra Howry