Back to Top

2008 AAEA Annual Award Winners

Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Association

  • Tamara Wagester, C-FARE

Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

  • Rebecca Cleary, University of Connecticut, Storrs, The Impact of Wal-Mart Supercenters on Incumbents’ Pricing Conduct: The Case of the Dallas/Fort Worth Milk Market, Rigoberto A. Lopez, advisor
  • Honorable Mention: Daniel Mooney, Michigan State University, The Economic Impact of Disease-Resistant Bean Breeding Research in Northern Ecuador, Scott M. Swinton, advisor

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Constant Tra, University of Maryland, Evaluating the Equilibrium Welfare Impacts of the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments in the Los Angeles Area, Antonio Bento and Kenneth E. McConnell, advisors
  • Honorable Mentions: Damian Adams, University of Florida, The Economics and Law of Invasive Species Management in Florida, Michael T. Olexa and Donna J. Lee, advisors; Fernando Osorio, Pennsylvania State University, Measuring Urban Amenities and Disamenities: A Spatial Hedonic Analysis in Bogota, Columbia, Richard C. Ready and James S. Shortle, advisors; Wei Zhang, Michigan State University, Optimal Pest Management in the Presence of Natural Pest Control Services, Scott M. Swinton, advisor

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less Than Ten Years' Experience: F. Bailey Norwood, Oklahoma State University
  • Undergraduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: James B. Kliebenstein, Iowa State University
  • Graduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Francis M. Epplin, Oklahoma State University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual, Less Than Ten Years' Experience: Vera Bitsch, Michigan State University
  • Individual, Ten or More Years' Experience: Michael Boehlje, Purdue University
  • Group: Clement E. Ward, Derrell S. Peel and James N. Trapp, Oklahoma State University; Stephen R. Koontz, Colorado State University: Members of "The Packer-Feeder Game- An Experiential Learning Program."

Distinguished Policy Contribution Award

  • Christopher B. Barrett, Cornell University

Quality of Communication Award

  • Stephen Crutchfield, Adrie Custer, Elise Golan, Barry Krissoff, Kathryn Lipton, Mary Maher, Thomas McDonald, Greg Pompelli, Sheila Sankaran, Robbin Shoemaker, and Patrick Sullivan, USDA: Economic Research Service, Editors: Amber Waves: The Economics of Food, Farming, Natural Resources, and Rural America. Special Issue on Perspectives on Food and Farm Policy, May 2007, Volume 5

Quality of Research Discovery Award

  • Colin Carter and Aaron Smith, University of California, Davis, "Estimating the Market Effect of a Food Scare: The Case of Genetically Modified Starlink Corn" Review of Economics and Statistics, August 2007, 89(3) p. 522-533
  • Richard E. Just, University of Maryland, Jeffrey LaFrance, Washington State University and Rulon Pope, Brigham Young University, "Imperfect Price Deflation in Production Systems", Review of Economics and Statistics, August 2007, 89 (3) p. 738-754

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • Daniel Gilligan and John Hoddinott, IFPRI, "Is There Persistence in the Impact of Emergency Food Aid? Evidence on Consumption, Food, Security, and Assets in Rural Ethiopia", American Journal of Agricultural Economics, May 2007, 89(2) p. 225-242

Outstanding Review of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • C. Ford Runge and Benjamin Senauer, University of Minnesota and Barbara Wagner, State of Montana Revenue Department, "An Empirical Analysis of and Policy Recommendations to Improve the Nutritional Quality of School Meals", Review of Agricultural Economics, Winter 2007, 29(4), p. 672-688

Outstanding Choices Article Award

  • Charles Abdalla and Kristin Saacke Blunk, Pennsylvania State University; Tatiana Borisova, West Virginia University, and Doug Parker, University of Maryland, "Water Quality Credit Trading and Agriculture: Recognizing the Challenges and Policy Issues Ahead", Choices, 22(2): p 117-124, 2nd Quarter, 2007

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

  • Richard Adams, Oregon State University; Kenneth Boote, Bruce Curry, James Jones and Robert Peart, University of Florida; David Glyer, Christensen & Associates; Leon Hartwell Allen, Jr., USDA: Agricultural Research Service; Bruce McCarl, Texas A&M University; Joe Ritchie, Michigan State University and Cynthia Rosenzweig, Goddard Institute for Space Studies, "Global Climate Change and United States Agriculture" Nature, May 1990, 345: p. 219-224

Chester O. McCorkle, Jr. Student Scholarship

  • Sudha Narayanan, Cornell University


  • Peter Berck
  • Larry Karp
  • Kathleen Segerson
  • Benjamin Senauer
  • Katherine Reichelderfer Smith

Poster Awards

  • First Place: Don Blayley, Christopher Davis and Biing-Hwan Lin, USDA: Economic Research Service and Stela Stefanova, University of Delaware, Factors Affecting U.S. Cheese Consumption
  • Second Place: Frank Lupi and Fang Xie, Michigan State University, and Laila Racevskis, University of Florida, The Consistency of Multiple Choice Sets in Attributive-Based Referenda Models
  • Third Place: Yuliya Bolotova, Christopher McIntosh, Kalamani Muthusamy and Paul Patterson, University of Idaho, Controlling Potato Supply and Price Volatility-Does it Work? Empirical Evidence from Idaho

Graduate/Undergraduate Student Competitions

Graduate Student Case Study Competition

  • First Place: Kathleen Brooks and Shannon Sand, Oklahoma State University, Brian Briggeman, advisor
  • Second Place: Julie Conn, Aiko Landerito, and Bonifacio Sessa, University of Arkansas, Michael Popp, advisor
  • Third Place: Ben Blomendahl and Brian Williams, University of Nebraska, Matt Stockton, advisor

Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Awards

  • First Place: Megan Sheely, Purdue University
  • Second Place: Shauna Yow, Texas A&M University
  • Third Place: Gabriela Salazar, Cornell University

Academic Bowl Awards

  • First Place: Texas A&M University: John Winkelmann, Robert Withers and Shauna Yow
  • Second Place: University of Nebraska: Justin Cech, Isaac Mortensen and Pam Pohlmann
  • Third Place: University of Florida: Emily Cecil, Joel Montero and Chris Rodgers

Outstanding Chapter Award

  • Iowa State University: William Edwards, advisor

Creative Club Award

  • Iowa State University, William Edwards, advisor