Back to Top

2007 AAEA Annual Award Winners

Undergraduate Student Awards

Outstanding Paper Awards

  • First Place: "Farmer Willingness to Pay for Frost Resistance in Alberta, Canada"-Becky McCorkle, University of Alberta
  • Second Place: "Hedonic Pricing of Bulls"-Jenna Smith, Purdue University
  • Third Place: "Impact of Personal Attributes on Cereal Variety Adoption Decisions"-Jesse Cole, University of Alberta

Academic Bowl Awards

  • First Place: Texas A&M University-Emily Seawright, Shauna Yow, and Eric Manthei; Ed Rister, advisor
  • Second Place: University of Florida-Alicia Taylor, Christopher Johanson, and Stephen Robison; Mikael Sandberg, advisor
  • Third Place: University of Nebraska-Becky Small, Isaac Mortensen, and Amy Kastanek; Darrell Mark, advisor

Outstanding Chapter Awards

  • First Place: Iowa State University-William Edwards, advisor

Creative Club Award

  • First Place: Iowa State University-William Edwards, advisor

Graduate Student Awards

Case Studies Competition

  • First Place: University of Alberta-James Benkie, Amanda Dacyk, and Catalina Solano; Ellen Goddard, advisor
  • Second Place: University of Arkansas-Arbaiya Abdula, Caroline Boen, and Corey Fortin; Mike Popp, advisor
  • Third Place: University of Florida-Jennifer Twyman Nunez, and Matthew Salois; Jeff Burkhardt, and Lisa House, advisors

Annual Awards

Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Organization

  • Bruce A. McCarl, Oral Capps Jr., Rodolfo M. Nayga Jr., Joe L. Outlaw, and John B. Penson Jr.; Texas A&M University, CHOICES Editorial Team

Executive Citation for Service to the Association

  • Linda S. Crenwelge, Technical Editor of CHOICES, Texas A&M University

Outstanding Master's Thesis Award

  • Gustavo Adolfo Mendoza Gutierrez, Demand for Water in Queretaro, Mexico: A Study of the Preferences for Water Supply Improvements, University of Alberta, Sean B. Cash and Wiktor L. Adamowicz, Advisors
  • Honorable Mentions: Rhett C. Farrell, Pressure Group Competition in U.S. Economic Sanction Policy, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Amy W. Ando, Advisor Yukako Sado, Potential Cost Savings from Discharge Permit Trading to Meet TMDLS for Phosphorus in the Passaic River Watershed, Cornell University, Richard Boisvert, Advisor

Outstanding PhD Dissertation Award

  • Marc Francois Bellemare, Three Essays on Agrarian Contracts, Cornell University, Christopher Barrett, Advisor Meredith Lynn Fowlie, Firm Behavior in Pollution Permit Markets, University of California, Berkeley, Jeffrey Perloff and Severin Borenstein, Advisor
  • Honorable Mentions: Nicolai V. Kuminoff, Recovering Preferences for Public goods from a Dual-market Locational Equilibrium, North Carolina State University, V. Kerry Smith, Advisor Chengyan Yue, Three Essays on Food Quality and Transactions Costs, Iowa State University, Helen H. Jensen and Jon C. Beghin, Advisors

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less than Ten Years' Experience: Darren Hudson, Mississippi State University
  • Undergraduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Dixie W. Reaves, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Graduate Teaching, Ten or More Years' Experience: Michael E. Wetzstein, University of Georgia

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual, Less than Ten Years Experience: Allan W. Gray, Purdue University
  • Individual, Ten or More Years Experience: Steven C. Blank, University of California, Davis
  • Group: Wendy J. Umberger, Colorado State University; DeeVon Bailey, Utah State University; Chris Bastian, University of Wyoming; Michael Coe, Global Animal Management; Kynda Curtis, University of Nevada at Reno; C. Wilson Gray, University of Idaho; John B. Lawrence, Iowa State University; Darrell R. Mark, University of Nebraska at Lincoln; Doug O'Brien, University of Arkansas; Russell Tronstad, University of Arizona; James G. Robb, Livestock Marketing Information Center; Michael T. Roberts, University of Arkansas; Erica L. Rosa, Livestock Marketing Information Center; Ted C. Schroeder, Kansas State University; Tana Stith, University of Wyoming; Glynn T. Tonsor, Michigan State University; Ruby Ward, Utah State University; Jack C. Whittier, Colorado State University U.S. Livestock Identification Systems: Risk Management and Market Opportunities

Distinguished Policy Contribution Award

  • James D. Johnson, USDA-Economic Research Service

Quality of Communication Award

  • Richard E. Just, University of Maryland; Julian M. Alston, University of California, Davis; David Zilberman, University of California, Berkeley Regulating Agricultural Biotechnology: Economics and Policy, New York, NY: Springer Science and Business Media, 2006.
  • Thomas Hertel, Purdue University; L. Alan Winters, The World Bank and The University of Sussex Poverty and the WTO: Impacts of the Doha Development Agenda, Washington, D.C.: The World Bank and Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire, U.K., and New York, NY: Palgrave MacMillan, 2006.

Quality of Research Discovery Award

  • Grigorios Livanis and Charles Moss, University of Florida; Vincent Breneman and Richard Nehring, USDA-Economic Research Service Urban Sprawl and Farmland Prices, American Journal of Agricultural Economics, 88(4): 915-929, November, 2006.

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • Barry K. Goodwin, North Carolina State University; Ashok K. Mishra, Louisiana State University, "Are Decoupled Farm Program Payments Really Decoupled? An Empirical Evaluation," American Journal of Agricultural Economics, 88(1): 73-89, 2006.
  • Honorable Mention: George A. Dyer, Steve Boucher, and J. Edward Taylor, University of California, Davis, "Subsistence Response to Market Shocks," American Journal of Agricultural Economics, 88(2): 279-291, 2006.

Outstanding Review of Agricultural Economics Article Award

  • Matin Qaim and Arjunan Subramanian, University of Hohenheim; Gopal Naik, Indian Institute of Management; David Zilberman, University of California, Berkeley, "Adoption of Bt Cotton and Impact Variability: Insights from India," Review of Agricultural Economics, Volume 28(1): 48-58, 2006.
  • Honorable Mention: Kym Anderson, Will Martin, and Dominique van der Mensbrugghe, The World Bank, "Distortions to World Trade: Impacts on Agricultural Markets and Farm Incomes," Review of Agricultural Economics, Volume 28(2): 168-194, 2006.

Outstanding Choices Article Award

  • James A. Duffield, USDA-Office of the Chief Economist; Keith Collins, Chief Economist, USDA-Office of the Chief Economist "Evolution of Renewable Energy Policy," Choices, 21(1): 9-14, 2006.
  • Honorable Mention: Stephanie Mercier, Democratic Staff of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry; Vince Smith, Montana State University "Domestic Farm Policy for 2007: Forces for Change," Choices, 21(4): 209-214, 2006.

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

  • Robert D. Innes, University of Arizona, "Limited Liability and Incentive Contracting with Ex-Ante Action Choices," Journal of Economic Theory, 52(1): 45-67, 1990.


  • Dermot James Hayes
  • Jeffrey T. LaFrance
  • Mark W. Rosegrant
  • Scott D. Rozelle
  • Bruce A. Weber

Chester O. McCorkle, Jr. Student Scholarship

  • Hope Michelson, Cornell University