Back to Top

August 2019, Issue 16

AAEA Deadlines

September 6, 2019

 September 12, 2019

View in Web Browser


2019 AAEA Award Winners

2019 Fellows

2019 Appreciation Clubs


Undergraduate Student Section Awards

  • Academic Bowl: Louisiana State University (Colt Hardee, Erynn Heffley, Whitney McKinzie)
  • Outstanding Paper Competition: Alexander Hildreth, Louisiana State University; and Elizabeth Thilmany, University of Maryland
  • Outstanding Chapter Award: Iowa State University (Advisors: Amy Brandau and Ron Deiter)

Graduate Student Section Awards

  • Graduate Student Case Study Competition
    • Winner – Kansas State University with Chelsea Arnold, Kaitlyn Dinges, and Christina Stander
    • Second Place – Purdue University with Emiliano López Barrera, Sofia K. Vielma Delano, and Jeremiah Stevens
    • Third Place – Michigan State University with April Athnos, Simone Faas, and Megan Bellinger
  • Graduate Student Extension Competition: Hannah Shear, Kansas State University, Mentor Dustin Pendell; Whitney Bowman, Kansas State University, Mentor Dustin Pendell; Amber Roberts, University of Minnesota, Mentor Joleen Hadrich

Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award:
Santa Felicita Rosario de Jesus, Virginia Tech; Hanna Ruder, Kansas State University; and Robert Thompson, Mississippi State University

Honorable Mentions: Ari Kornelis, Michigan State University and Angela Sweeney, University of Guelph

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation:
Ellen Bruno, University of California, Davis; Tamma Carleton, University of California, Berkeley; and David Wolf, The Ohio State University

Honorable Mention: Bixuan Sun, University of Minnesota

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Ten Years’ Experience: Kim Morgan, Virginia Tech
  • Undergraduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Christine Wilson, Kansas State University
  • Graduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Thomas Hertel, Purdue University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual: Less than Ten Years’ Experience: Alejandro Plastina, Iowa State University
  • Individual: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Glynn Tonsor, Kansas State University
  • Group: Brian Briggeman, Kansas State University; Phil Kenkel, Oklahoma State University; Keri Jacobs, Iowa State University; Greg McKee, University of Nebraska; and Michael Boland, University of Minnesota

Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis
Dermot Hayes, Iowa State University

Additional authors include: Edward Balistreri, John Crespi, Chad Hart, Minghao Li, Lee Schulz, David Swenson, and Wendong Zhang

Quality of Communication Award
Parke Wilde, Tufts University; Mary Marchant, Virginia Tech; and H. Holly Wang, Purdue University

Additional authors include: Yuqing Zheng, Dallas Wood, Jason P. H. Jones, Farzad Taheripour, Wallace E. Tyner, James Hansen, Wei Zhang, Jason Grant, Amanda M. Countryman, Andrew Muhammad, Yangxuan Liu, John R. C. Robinson, and W. Donald Shurley

Quality of Research Discovery Award
William Masters, Tufts University; Prakarsh Singh, Amherst College

Publication of Enduring Quality Award
Michael Carter, University of California, Davis and Christopher Barrett, Cornell University

Honorable Mention: Thomas Reardon, C. Peter Timmer, Christopher B. Barrett, Julio Berdegué

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award:
Tim Richards, Arizona State University

Honorable Mentions: Andrew Crane-Droesch and Matthew Anderson, Julian Alston, Philip Pardey, Aaron Smith

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy Article Award
Brenna Ellison, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and Jayson Lusk, Purdue University

Outstanding Choices Article
Farzad Taheripour, Purdue University; and Wallace E. Tyner, Purdue University

Honorable Mention: Don E. Albrecht, Florence A. Becot, Bonnie Braun, Stephan J. Goetz, Shoshanah Inwood, Alana Knudson, Jane M. Kolodinsky, Scott Loveridge, Katlyn Morris, Jason Parker, Bob Parsons, and Rachel Welborn

Anthony Grano Scholarship
Amber Roberts, University of Minnesota

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship
Vincenzina Caputo, Michigan State University

Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship
Sendhil Ramadas, ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research

Chester O. McCorkle Jr. Student Scholarship
Louis Sears, Cornell University

AARES-AAEA Young Professional Exchange Program

  • Heading North Award: Saeideh S. Khosroshahi, Latrobe University

Call for Papers
Applied Economics Teaching Resources

AETR is a new online open access publication sponsored by the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association for high end research and scholarship in the areas of teaching, education and extension in the fields of agricultural economics, agribusiness, applied economics and related disciplines.
Read more>>

AAEA/AARES Heading South Award
Call for Applications

The Australasian Agricultural and Resource Economics Society (AARES) and the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) through the AAEA Trust will jointly offer this travel award to attend the 2020 AARES Conference in Perth, Western Australia. It is available to members of AARES or AAEA normally resident in North America. Applicants for the award can be a member of either AARES or AAEA but must be a member of AARES to participate in the conference.

Electronic submissions (in PDF form) for this award must be emailed to Kristen McGuire by Thursday, September 12, 2019 (for travel in February 2020).
Read more>>

Other News

2019 International Conference on Agricultural and Food Science

2019 International Conference on Agricultural and Food Science (ICAFS 2019) to be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia during December 8-11, 2019. For more details please visit
Read more>>

AAEA is releasing "Members in the News" emails to the membership. If you find a State, National or International stories about an AAEA Member, please send a link of the story to Sinais Alvarado via email, or

What research and topics are you working on? Want to be an expert source for journalists working on a story? We want to hear from you. Contact Allison Scheetz in the AAEA Business Office via email,

Sign up for listserv emails regarding
new positions HERE.

Anti-Harassment and Code of Conduct Policy

AAEA is committed to the fair, ethical treatment of all of its members and all other individuals participating in AAEA activities or activities connected with, or related to, AAEA activities, while providing an atmosphere that promotes a variety of research, teaching and extension/outreach activities. The AAEA has zero tolerance for, and prohibits any type of, discrimination or harassment, including sexual harassment, within the organization, at professional meetings, in the field, or anywhere professional activities are conducted under the aegis of the AAEA. View the Policy.