Back to Top

Luther G. Tweeten Scholarship Call for Applications

The deadline for this program has passed.

The Luther G. Tweeten Scholarship provides support for graduate student research on socioeconomic problems of Africa, especially addressing issues of food, population, and environment that affect economic development, poverty, and food security.

At least one (1) grant of up to $2,000 will be awarded for use during the 2016 calendar year. The funding is designed to cover the costs associated with fieldwork in Africa such as research materials, programs, and/or travel expenses.

The application deadline is October 12, 2015. The award will be announced in January 2016.

To apply, please submit the following:

  1. Description of the proposed research (maximum of 5 pages)
  2. Itemized budget
  3. Letter of support from the major advisor
  4. Graduate transcript
  5. Financial support for the proposed research expected to run concurrent with the Tweeten Scholarship
  6. Timetable for research under the Tweeten Scholarship in the context of the candidate’s overall graduate program

Applications should be submitted in a single PDF format to Brian Mondragón Jones at by October 12, 2015. If you have any questions, please contact Brian by email or by phone at (414) 918-3190.

The Luther G. Tweeten Special Purpose Fund was established to encourage and facilitate graduate student research on economic development, poverty, food security, and the environmental issues of Africa.

Dr. Tweeten spent more than 20 years as a professor of agricultural economics at Oklahoma State University, and is currently a professor emeritus of agricultural policy and trade at The Ohio State University, where he has been on the faculty since 1988. His extensive international experience in Africa, Asia, Europe, and Latin America is highlighted in his more than 500 journal articles and papers and seven published books, as well as in his research in public policy and economic development and trade.

Dr. Tweeten served as President of the AAEA in 1981, was named a Fellow of the AAEA in 1983, and has received numerous AAEA awards for his research and writings. He was given the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Southern Agricultural Economics Association in 2000, and earned the Henry A. Wallace Award for Distinguished Service to Agriculture in 1995 from his alma mater, Iowa State University.