Back to Top

Luther G. Tweeten Special Purpose Fund

Call for Applications

The Luther G. Tweeten Scholarship will not be accepting applications for 2018, please check back for future updates.

Luther G. Tweeten Special Purpose Fund provides support for graduate student research on socioeconomic problems of Africa, especially addressing issues of food, population, and environment that affect economic development, poverty, and food security.

You can donate to the Tweeten fund using the Trust donation form.

Luther G. Tweeten

Dr. Tweeten's impact on the profession is clearly evident in two ways - the numerous awards and honors he has won, and the prominent place in the minds of producers and residents of his adopted home state of Ohio.

Dr. Tweeten spent more than 20 years as a professor of agricultural economics at Oklahoma State University, and is currently a professor emeritus of agricultural policy and trade at The Ohio State University, where he has been on the faculty since 1988. His extensive international experience in Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America is highlighted in his more than 500 journal articles and papers and seven published books, as well as in his research in public policy and economic development and trade.

Dr. Tweeten was named a Fellow of the AAEA in 1983, and has received numerous AAEA awards for his research and writings. He was given the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Southern Agricultural Economics Association in 2000, and earned the Henry A. Wallace Award for Distinguished Service to Agriculture in 1995 from his alma mater, Iowa State University.

Tweeten Scholarship Recipients

The past winners of the Tweeten Scholarship and the areas of research funded by the scholarship are listed below.

  • 2015: Sylvan Herskowitz, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2014: Aine Seitz McCarthy, University of Minnesota
  • 2013: Comlanvi Sitou Akibode, Michigan State University
  • 2013: Teevrat Garg, Cornell University
  • 2013:  Michael Mulford, Cornell University
  • 2013: Asare Twum-Barima, University of California, Davis
  • 2012: Julia Berazneva, Cornell University
  • 2012: Kepifri Lakoh, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • 2012: Romina Ordonez, University of Maryland
  • 2011: Aude Liliana Pujula, Louisiana State University
  • 2010: David Kaczan, University of Alberta
  • 2008-2009: Joseph Frank Mgaya, The Ohio State University