Back to Top

Over 40 Recognized at 2021 AAEA & WAEA Joint Annual Meeting

Awards five Fellows, 32 individuals, and two new appreciation clubs

Over 1,300 participanted in the 2021 AAEA &WAEA Joint Annual Meeting (Hybrid), which took place on August 1-3 at the JW Marriott Austin and virtually online. On Monday, August 2, AAEA Awarded five Fellows, two new appreciation clubs and over 30 awards at this year’s Awards and Fellows Recognition Ceremony:

2021 Fellows:

2021 Appreciation Clubs

Outstanding Master's Thesis Award


Molly Delcurto, Montana State University
Benjamin Norton, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Betty Thomas, Mississippi State University

Honorable Mention: Gabriel Blair Fontinelee

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award


Christina Korting, University of Delaware

Honorable Mentions: Susanna Berkouwer, Yang Yu

Distinguished Teaching Awards:
Less than 10 years
10 or more years', Undergraduate
10 or more years', Graduate

Cesar Escalante, University of Georgia
Jason Bergtold, Kansas State University
Zhifeng Gao, University of Florida

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards:
Less than 10 years' experience
10 or more years' experience

Wendong ZhangIowa State University
Nick Paulson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Farmdoc Daily Live Coronavirus and Agriculture (Scott Irwin, Jim Baltz, Ryan Batts, Lee Bynum, Jonathan Coppess, Brenna Ellison, Bryan Endres, Todd Gleason, Keith Good, Todd Hubbs, Hongxia Jiao, Dale Lattz, Nick Paulson, Gary Schnitkey, Bruce Sherrick, Cathy Strick, and Brad Zwilling)

Bruce Gardner Award

Vida Abadam, USDA (Shawn Arita, Mary Ann Ball, Vince Breneman, Joseph Cooper, Gustavo Ferreira, Georgi Gabrielyan, Essence Hales, Joy Harwood, Deirdre Holder, Ashley Hungerford, Robert Johansson, Kent Lanclos, Callie McAdams, Sharon Raszap, Pete Riley, Phil Sronce, Thomas Gajnak, Rena Yuan, Roger Cryan, and Charles Stephens also of USDA, Economic Research)

Pat Westhoff, University of Missouri (Julian C.R. Binfield, Sera Chiuchiarelli, Deepayan Debnath, Scott Gerlt, Hoa T.K. Hoang, Lauren Jackson, Youngjune Kim, John Kruse, Abigail Meffert, Seth Meyer, Marc Rosenbohm, Byung Min Soon, Wyatt Thompson, Patrick Westhoff, Jarrett Whistance, Peter Zimmel)

Quality of Research Discovery Award


Scott Irwin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Kristen McCormack and James H. Stock from Harvard)

Honorable Mention: Sherzod Akhundjanov (Muyang Ge and Eric C. Edwards)

Quality of communication Award

Johan Swinnen (John McDermott)

AAEA Mentoring Award

Lisa House, University of Florida

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

Nigel Key, USDA (Elisabeth Sadoulet and Alain de Janvry)

Outstanding AJAE Article

Ariel Ortiz-Bobea, Cornell University for 
"The Role of Nonfarm Influences in Ricardian Estimates of Climate Change Impacts on US Agriculture"

Outstanding AJAE Reviewers

  1. Leah Bevis, The Ohio State University
  2. Daniel Brent, Pennsylvania State University
  3. Alexandra Hill, Colorado State University
  4. Jonathan McFadden, University of Oklahoma

Outstanding AEPP Article

Joseph JanzenUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Nathan HendricksKansas State University for
"Are Farmers Made Whole by Trade Aid”

Outstanding Choices Article

Jason Grant, Virginia Tech; Shawn Arita, USDA-OCE; Charlotte Emlinger, Virginia Tech; Sharon Sydow,  USDA-OCE; Mary A. Marchant, Virginia Tech for
"The 2018-2019 Trade Conflict: A One-Year Assessment and Impacts on U.S. Agricultural Exports"

Presidential Recognition Award 

Kathleen Liang, North Carolina A&T

Anthony Grano Scholarship

Chellie Hogan, Oklahoma State University
Deven Brand, Kansas Farm Management Association

Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship

P. Venkatesh, Indian Agricultural Research Institute

McCorkle Scholarship

Karin Wu, University of Wisconsin

AAEA Trust Travel Grants

21 Early Career Professionals and Graduate Students

2021 Academic Bowl Winners

Louisiana State University (Team 1)
Colt Hardee
Michael Younis
Erin Matherne

For questions, please contact Allison Ware in the AAEA Business Office. You can also learn more on the 2021 AAEA Annual Meeting Awards and Fellows Recognition page.

ABOUT AAEA: Established in 1910, the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) is the leading professional association for agricultural and applied economists, with 2,500 members in more than 60 countries. Members of the AAEA work in academic or government institutions as well as in industry and not-for-profit organizations, and engage in a variety of research, teaching, and outreach activities in the areas of agriculture, the environment, food, health, and international development. The AAEA publishes two journals, the American Journal of Agricultural Economics and Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy, as well as the online magazine Choices and the online open access publication series Applied Economics Teaching Resources. To learn more, visit