Back to Top

Over 40 Awarded at 2018 AAEA Annual Meeting

Five Fellows, 46 individuals, and two institutions recognized

Over 1,700 participants attended the 2018 AAEA Annual Meeting, which took place on August 5-7 at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, D.C. On Monday, August 6, AAEA Awarded five Fellows, and 26 awards at this year’s Awards and Fellows Recognition Ceremony:

AAEA 2018 Fellows

  • George Norton, Virginia Tech
  • Jill McCluskey, Washington State University
  • John Beghin, North Carolina State University
  • Marcel Fafchamps, Stanford University
  • Thomas Jayne, Michigan State University

Undergraduate Student Section Awards

Outstanding Chapter Award: Iowa State University (Advisor: Georgeanne Artz)

Graduate Student Section Awards

Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award: Sachintha Mendis, University of Wyoming

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation: Aleks Schaefer, University of California, Davis; and Ellen McCullough, University of Georgia

Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Less than Ten Years’ Experience: Sierra Howry, University of Wisconsin, River Falls
  • Undergraduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: James Sterns, Oregon State University
  • Graduate Teaching: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Gerald Shively, Purdue University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards

  • Individual: Less than Ten Years’ Experience: Lee Schulz, Iowa State University
  • Individual: Ten or More Years’ Experience: Gary Schnitkey, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Group: Community and Economic Development Initiative of Kentucky (CEDIK)

Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis: Scott Irwin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Dwight Sanders, Southern Illinois University

Quality of Communication Award: Jayson Beckman, USDA-ERS, Kari Heerman, USDA-ERS, and John Dyck, USDA-ERS

Quality of Research Discovery Award: Martin Smith, Duke University, Justin Kirkpatrick, Duke University, Frank Asche, University of Florida, Atle Oglend, Lori Bennear,  J. Kevin Craig, and James Nance

Publication of Enduring Quality Award: Brian Wright, University of California, Berkeley; Jeffrey Williams, University of California, Davis

Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award: Colin Carter, University of California, Davis, Gordon Rausser, University of California, Berkeley, and Aaron Smith, University of California, Davis

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy Article Award: Nathaniel Jensen, International Livestock Research Institute, and Christopher Barrett, Cornell University

Outstanding Choices Article: Beau Olen, Oregon State University, and JunJie Wu, Oregon State University
Anthony Grano Scholarship: Chinonso Etumnu, Purdue University and Maria Vrachioli, Technical University of Munich

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship: Graciela Andrango, Western Illinois University

Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship: Ismat Ara Begum, Bangladesh Agricultural University

Chester O. McCorkle Jr. Student Scholarship: Jose Nuno, Purdue University

AARES-AAEA Young Professional Exchange Program

  • Heading North Award: Alexandra Peralta, University of Adelaide
  • Heading South Award: Tor Tolhurst, University of California, Davis

For questions, please contact Allison Scheetz in the AAEA Business Office. You can also learn more on our 2018 AAEA Annual Awards & Fellows Recognition page.

ABOUT AAEA: Established in 1910, the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) is the leading professional association for agricultural and applied economists, with 2,500 members in more than 60 countries. Members of the AAEA work in academic or government institutions as well as in industry and not-for-profit organizations, and engage in a variety of research, teaching, and outreach activities in the areas of agriculture, the environment, food, health, and international development. The AAEA publishes two journals, the American Journal of Agricultural Economics and Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy, as well as the online magazine Choices. To learn more, visit

Contact: Allison Scheetz
Senior Communications Manager
(414) 918-3190