Back to Top

People Section

University of California- Davis

  • Appointment Changes: Jens Hilscher, Professor; Julian Alston, Emeritus Professor
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Charlotte Ambrozek, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Applied Economics, University of Minnesota; Caitlin Kieran, Ph.D., Research and Evaluation Specialist, Landesa; Daniel Mazzone, Ph.D., Economist, U.S. Department of Energy; Karen Ortiz-Becerra, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Economics, University of San Diego; Yijing (Olivia) Wang, Ph.D., Economist, Amazon; Joakim Weill, Ph.D., Climate Economist, Research & Statistics Division Federal Reserve Board; Yan (Sophie) Xu, Ph.D., Principal Data Scientist, Whole Foods Market 
  • Returns from Leave: Daniel A. Sumner; Ed Taylor 
  • Retirements: Julian Alston, 34 Years; Stephen Vosti, 23 Years 
  • Visitors: Gabriel Lade, Visiting Asst. Researcher (07/01/22 to 7/31/2022), Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, Macalester College 


  • New appointments: Khalid Siddig, Senior Research Fellow/Program Leader- Sudan Strategy Support Program; Askar Mukashov, Associate Research Fellow; Carly Trachtman, Associate Research Fellow; Temilolu Bamiwuye, Research Analyst; Rati Kapoor, Data Manager; Eleanor Jones, Research Analyst; Joanna van Asselt, Associate Research Fellow; Rebecca Brander, Research Fellow; Sharvari Patwardhan, Research Analyst; Junyan Tian, Research Analyst
  • Awards: Sattvika Ashok, American Society for Nutrition, Awarded the 'Global Nutrition Early Career Scholar Award' for NUTRITION 2022 LIVE ONLINE
  • Resignations: Abdallah Cisse; Julie Kurtz; Sylvan Herskowitz; Anupama John Kaithakkal; Belay Mohammed Yimer; Keith Lividini; Vinay Kumar Sonkar; Mengying Wang

University of Idaho

  • Appointment Changes: Jason Winfree, Professor; Hernan Tejeda, Associate Professor; Andres Trujillo-Barrera, Associate Professor; Katherine Lee, Associate Professor
  • Return from Leave: Phil Watson
  • Awards: Zhengliang Yang, MS – AAEA McCorkle Scholarship, University of Idaho Graduate and Professional Student Organization outstanding graduate student
  • Positions taken by recent graduates: Zhengliang Yang, Ph.D. student – Michigan State University; Samjhana Koirala, Ph.D. student – University of Connecticut

University of Minnesota

  • Appointment Changes: Frances Homans, Interim Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Faculty Affairs, CFANS; Terry Hurley, Interim Division Head, Department of Applied Economics and Department of Agricultural Education, Communication and Marketing

University of Missouri

  • New Appointments: Adrienne Ohler, Associate Extension Professor ; Robyn Eschenbrenner, Academic Advisor
  • Stephen Mukembo, Faculty Diversity Postdoctoral Program; Austin Landini, Postdoctoral Fellow; Juo-Han (Becky) Tsay, Postdoctoral Fellow
  • Awards: Alan Spell and Sarah Low, Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER), Community, Economic and Workforce Research Award; Mohammad Mobarok, 2022 Transportation Research Forum, Best Student Paper; Tayatorn Pongspikul, CAFNR, Dissertation Research Improvement Grant
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Jong-Ik Kim, PhD, Associate Research Fellow, Korea Energy Economics Institute; Lucy McGowan, PhD, Assistant Professor of Agribusiness, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo; Mohammad Mobarok, PhD, Assistant Professor of Agricultural Economics, Northwest Missouri State University; Catherine Isley, MS, Senior Business Analyst, The Context Network
  • Resignations: John Kruse; Sarah Low; Jamille Palacios Rivera

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Award: Richard Perrin, UNL Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Education, 2022
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Susweta Ray, Research Specialist 2, Public Policy Center, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Texas A&M University

  • New Appointments: Anthony Baffoe-Bonnie, Assistant Professor; Lucas Garcia, Instructional Assistant Professor; Chrystol Thomas-Winston, Instructional Assistant Professor;
  • Appointment Changes: Samuel Zapata, Associate Professor; Kaitlyn Dinges, Instructional Assistant Professor; Ly Nguyen, Instructional Assistant; Paul Feldman, Assistant Professor; Mani Rouhi Rad, Assistant Professor
  • Retirement: Mark L. Waller, Professor and Associate Department Head, 35 years of service

Texas Tech University

  • Awards: Stephen Devadoss, AAEA, Mentoring Award 2022

Washington State University

  • New Appointments: Seollee Park, Assistant Professor; Christopher Clarke, Assistant Professor (career track)
  • Awards: Jill McCluskey, Fellow, American Association for Advancement in Science (AAAS) and Fellow, Agricultural and Resource Economics Review
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Zhazira Alisheva, PhD, post-doctoral researcher, CDC; Salim Al Jahwari, PhD, Financial Stability Executive, Central Bank of Oman; Nawwaf Aljulaifi, PhD, Assistant Professor, King Saud University; Botir Okunjanov, PD, Visiting Assistant Professor, Denison University; Joshua Olsen, PhD, Data Scientist/Economist at Colaberry Inc for Bayer Crop Sciences; Tiana Randriamaro, PhD, Economics at A2F Consulting; Golam Shakil, PhD, post-doctoral researcher, Allen School for Global Health, Washington State University; Azhar Uddin, PhD, post-doctoral researcher, E.S. Floyd College of Medicine, Washington State University
  • Honorary Positions: Ana Espinola, Co-Editor-in-Chief International Review of Environmental and Resource Economics
  • Retirements: Patricia Kuyzk
  • Visitors: Ruoye Yang, fall 2022 from Shanxi University of Finance and Economics, China

West Virginia University

  • New appointment: Siddhartha Bora, Assistant Professor
  • Appointment change: Elizabeth Byrd, Teaching Associate Professor
  • Resignation: Suhyun Jung