Back to Top

People Section

Arizona State University

  • New Appointments: Jamille Lasante, Associate Clinical Professor; Abhipsita Das, Postdoctoral Research Scholar; S. Fatima Hafsa, Postdoctoral Research Scholar; Xu Yilan, Postdoctoral Research Scholar
  • Awards:  Ashok Mishra, AAEA, Fellow 2022; Ashok Mishra, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, 2022 Fellow; Ashok Mishra, AAEA-AFM, 2022 Publication of Lasting Impact; Carola Grebitus, Associated Students of ASU, Centennial Professorship Award; Carola Grebitus, Huizingh Outstanding Service Award, Teaching Award through ASU/W. P. Carey School of Business; Alexis Villacis Aveiga, International Food and Agribusiness Management Association, Inaugural Young Board Rising Star Award
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Katherine Fuller, PhD, Postdoctoral researcher, Tufts University
  • Leave: Timothy Richards, Australia, January 2023-July 2023
  • Resignation: Steven Vickner
  • Visitors: Maximilian Koppenberg, University of Hohenheim, Germany (Aug-Sept. 2022); Anil K. Dixit, ICAR-National Dairy Research Institute, India (Sept. Nov. 2022); Sabuj Mandal, Indian Institute of Management (IIT), Chennai (Sept 2021- Sept 2022)

Auburn University

  • New Appointment: Sunjae Won, Assistant Professor
  • Award: Wenying Li, AAEA, co-winner of the AJAE Outstanding Article award

University of California, Davis

  • New Appointment: Serena Leung, Jr., Specialist 
  • Award: Rachael Goodhue and (ARE Ph.D. alumni:  Jessica Rudder, Tor Tolhurst, and Hanlin Wei, and former ARE Postdoctoral Scholar Daniel Tregeagle), AAEA Honor for Professional Excellence (Specialty Crop Economics)
  • Leaves: Dalia Ghanem, Center for Monetary and Financial Studies (CEMFI), 1 year; Colin Carter, University of Galway, 1 year 

University of Guelph

  • Appointment Changes: Sylvanus Kwaku Afesorgbor, Associate Professor;  Tongzhe Li, Associate Professor
  • Award:  Tongzhe Li, AAEA, Outstanding AJAE Reviewer Award 2022
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Yong Liu, PhD, Assistant Professor, Texas A&M University 
  • Honorary Position: Tongzhe Li, Associate Editor, AJAE
  • Resignation: Richard Vyn 
  • Retirement: Glenn Fox, 35 years of service

University of Idaho

  • New Appointment: Brett Wilder, area extension educator in farm and risk management

International Food Policy Research Institute

  • New Appointments: Thomas Falk, Research Fellow; A MyintZu, Research Analyst; Lily Bliznashka, Associate Research Fellow; Ying Kham Synt, Research Analyst; Parthu Kalva, Research Analyst; Abul Kamar, Senior Research Analyst; Chibuzo Nwagboso, Research Analyst; Opeyemi Olanrewaju, Research Analyst; Yousra Salama, Senior Research Analyst; Gabriela Fretes, Associate Research Fellow; Quinn Marshall, Associate Research Fellow; Jeffrey Bloem, Research Fellow; Jordan Kyle, Research Fellow
  • Resignations: Cristhian Pulido; Jason Yauney; Khin Zin Win; Susana Constenla; Lillian Anderson
  • Visitor: Loraine Ronchi, Lead Economist, World Bank Group; now CGIAR Senior Advisor for Policy Impact

University of Minnesota

  • New Appointments: Charlotte Ambrozek, Assistant Professor; Mariah Beverly, Assistant Extension Professor
  • Visitors: Alessandro Bonnano, Professor, Colorado State University, Visiting Scholar, 2022-2023; Vic Adamowicz, Distinguished University Professor, University of Alberta, Visiting Scholar, 2022-2023

University of Missouri

  • New Appointment: Annette Kendall, Assistant Extension Professor
  • Visitor: Natalia Filimonova, Visiting Scholar, Institute of International Education's Scholar Rescue Fund, October 2022-October 2023

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Award: Wes Peterson, UNL Faculty Senate, James A. Lake Academic Freedom Award 2022
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Anne Gesare Timu, PhD, Associate Research Fellow, IFPRI, Environmental and Production Technology (EPTD) Division; Muhammad Tahir Ali, PhD, Researcher-Economist with the International Water Management Institute (IWMI) in Lahore, Pakistan

Texas A&M University

  • New Appointments: Anthony Baffoe-Bonnie, Assistant Professor; Paul Feldman, Assistant Professor; Lucas Garcia, Instructional Assistant Professor; Ly Nguyen, Instructional Assistant Professor; Mani Rouhi Rad, Assistant Professor; Kaitlyn Weber, Instructional Assistant Professor; Chrystol Thomas Winston, Instructional Assistant Professor; Todd Davis, Assistant Professor & Extension Specialist; Yuri Calil, Assistant Professor & Extension Specialist
  • Appointment Change: Samuel Zapata, Associate Professor
  • Retirement: Mark L. Waller, 35 years of service

Texas Tech University

  • Awards: Stephen Devadoss, CWAE/AAEA, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Mentoring Award, 2022