Back to Top

People Section

University of California, Davis

  • New Appointment: Dalia Ghanem, Associate Professor

University of Georgia

  • Awards:  A. da Silva, T. Coolong, B. Dutta and Esendugue Greg Fonsah, The American Society for Horticultural Science (ASHS), Southern Region, Blue Ribbon Extension Communication Award (1st Place); Cesar L. Escalante, Office of Institutional Diversity, University of Georgia, 2020 President's (Martin Luther King) Fulfilling the Dream Award; Cesar L. Escalante, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, University of Georgia, 2020 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award; Cesar L. Escalante, Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, 2020 AAEA Mentoring Award; Yukiko Hashida, AERE, The Ralph C. d’Arge and Allen V. Kneese Award for Outstanding Publication in the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
  • Honorary Positions:  Esendugue Greg Fonsah, Extra-Ordinary Professor, North West University Business School (NWUBS), Republic of South Africa, 2020 – 2023

International Food Policy Research Institute

  • New appointments: Pushkar Gaur, Research Analyst; Ruchira Boss, Research Analyst; Simone Faas, Research Analyst; Wuit Yi Lwin, Research Analyst
  • Honorary positions: Agnes Quisumbing, Co-Editors, Food Policy; Emorn Udomkesmalee, Board Chair, IFPRI; Katrina Kosec, Academic Member, Evidence in Governance and Politics (EGAP) Network; Mateusz Filipski, Nonresident Fellow, IFPRI, April 2020-March 2021; Suresh Babu, Editorial Advisory Board Member, Tropical Agricultural Research Journal, Institute of Agriculture (PGIA), University of Peradeniya, Post graduated Institute of Agriculture, Sri Lanka; Xiaobo Zhang, Advisor Board Member, World Pandemic Research Network (WPRN)
  • Award: Susana Constenla, AAEA, Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards 2020

Kansas State University

  • Appointment Changes: Brian Coffey, Associate Professor; Dan O’Brien, Professor; Ben Schwab, Associate Professor; Nathan Hendricks, Professor
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Bowen Chen, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Elliott Dennis, PhD Assistant Professor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Youngjune Kim, PhD Senior Research Associate, Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute, University of Missouri; Pacem Kotchofa,  PhD Postdoctoral Fellow Socio-Economist, International Research Institute (ILRI), Senegal

University of Missouri

  • Awards: Harvey James, Agriculture, Food and Human Values Society, 2020 Richard P. Haynes Lifetime Achievement Award in Sustainable Agriculture; Linda Sowers, ODK, Honor Tap; Teo Skevas and Jasper Grashuis, Agribusiness, top 10% most downloaded papers for 2018-2019, “Technical efficiency and spatial spillovers: Evidence from grain marketing cooperatives in the US Midwest,” Barituka Bekee, PhD candidate, University of Missouri Rollins Society Inductee; Jason Entsminger, PhD candidate, Mizzou LGBTQ Resource Center, Catalyst Award; Melody Muldrow, PhD Candidate, CAFNR, George Washington Carver Fellowship for Doctoral Studies; Mizzou National Agricultural Marketing Association Competition Team, National Agricultural Marketing Association, one of six winners in Executive Summary competition and winner of Membership Recruitment Award

The Ohio State University

  • Awards: Brandon Genetin, Southern Regional Science Association, Best PhD Student Paper Moriarty Award; Sydney Schreiner, NARSC, Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science finalist
  • Positions Taken By Recent Graduates: Oudom Hean, PhD, Assistant Professor, North Dakota State University; Katherine Ramirez-Nieto, PhD, Assistant Professor, Monmouth University
  • Resignation: Dr. Jon Einar Flatnes

Purdue University

  • Awards: Thomas Hertel, Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, Distinguished Teaching Award for Graduate Teaching; Purdue University, Lowell S. Hardin Award for Excellence in International Agriculture; Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, Quality of Communication Award; Farzad Taheripour, Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, Quality of Communication Award; Holly Wang, Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, Quality of Communication Award; Food Policy, Co-Editor; John Sanders, Purdue University, Lowell S. Hardin Award for Excellence in International Agriculture; Maria Marshall, Purdue University, Susan Bulkeley Butler Center Leadership in Action Award; Jake Ricker-Gilbert, Purdue University, University Faculty Scholar

Texas Tech University

  • New Appointments: Modhurima Amin, Assistant Professor; Syed Badruddoza, Research Assistant Professor; Sunghun Lim, Assistant Professor; Donna McCallister, Assistant Professor
  • Award: Ethan Sabala, SAEA, WAEA, and AAEA Outstanding Thesis Awards

Virginia Tech

  • Awards: Jonathan van Senten, U.S. Aquaculture Society, Distinguished Early Career Award; Alexis Villacis-Aveiga, Virginia Tech College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Randolph L. Grayson Outstanding CALS Diversity Scholar Award

West Virginia University

  • Appointment Change: Heather Stephens, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Alexandre Ribeiro Scarcioffolo, PhD in Natural Resource Economics, Assistant Professor, Georgia College; Sam Taylor, PhD in Natural Resource Economics, Assistant Director, Energy Institute, West Virginia University; Quinn Townsend, MS in Resource Economics and Management, Policy Manager, Alaska Policy Forum