Back to Top

People Section

Economic Research Service (USDA-ERS)

  • New Appointments: Broderick Parr, Outlook Analyst; Mariana Matias, Outlook Analyst

University of Florida

  • Appointment Changes: Kelly A. Grogan, Associate Professor; Jaclyn D. Kropp, Associate Professor
  • New Appointments: Tara Wade, Assistant Professor; Travis McArthur, Assistant Professor; Yan Heng, Assistant Research Scientist; Christa Court, Assistant Research Scientist; Misti Sharp, Lecturer; Luis Pena Levano, Lecturer
  • Visitor: Xuemei Jiang, Associate Professor in Forestry Economics, Beijing Forestry University, August 2017-June 2018

University of Idaho

  • New Appointments: Xiaoxue Du, Assistant Professor; Liang Lu, Assistant Professor; Alexander Maas, Assistant Professor
  • Appointment Changes: Cathy A. Roheim, Executive Associate Dean; Christopher McIntosh, Interim Department Head
  • Awards: Cathy A. Roheim, Fellow, International Institute of Fisheries Economics and Trade (IIFET); Jason Winfree, WAEA, Outstanding Reviewer 
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Elijah Kosse, MS, Instructor, South Dakota State University; Joseph (Cody) Cook, MS, Informa; Anna Brown, MS, EMSI, Inc.; Haley Hildibrandt, MS, U.S. Census Bureau

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • New Appointment: Dana Wennerberg, Experiential Learning Coordinator and Academic Advisor 
  • Appointment Change: John Scholl, Instructor

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

  • New Appointment: Rob Vos, Director of Markets, Trade and Institutions Division

University of Maryland

  • Awards: Richard E. Just, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, AJAE Outstanding Journal Article Award; Richard E. Just, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, AJAE Outstanding Publication on Risk (from the Applied Risk Analysis Section)
  • Leave: ​Sebastien Houde, ETH Zurich, August 2017 to January 2018​

University of Missouri

  • Appointment Change: Jill Findeis, Professor Emerita
  • Award: Wyatt Thompson, University of Missouri, CAFNR Communications Fellow
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Benjamin P. Brown, MS, Program Director, Ohio Farm Management Association, Ohio State University
  • Retirement: Jill Findeis, 6 years of service
  • Visitors: Pavlo Bohachyk, Management, Uman National University of Horticulture; Dmytro Kachan, Finance, Banking and Insurance, National Agrarian University of Bila Tserkva; Natalia Vasylieva, Informative Systems and Technologies, Dnipropetrovsk State Agrarian and Economic University; and Lesia Voliak, Statistics and Economic Analysis, National University of Life and Environmental Sciences, August 1- December 10.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Awards: Lilyan Fulginiti, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Darrell W. Nelson Excellence in Graduate Student Advising Award; Felipe de Figueiredo Silva, AAEA Land, Water and Environmental Economics Section, Honorable Mention Outstand Poster

New Mexico State University

  • New Appointments: Steve Ramsey, Assistant Professor
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Julie Wilbanks, MS, Business and Marketing Coordinator, La Semilla Food Center
  • Visitor: Li Shuan, Assistant Researcher, Rural Development Institute, Heilongjiang Provincial Academy of Social Sciences, Visiting Scholar, 9/1/2017-8/31/2018

The Ohio State University

  • Awards: Sathya Gopalakrishnan, AEDE, National Science Foundation Grant to Analyze East Coast Coastal Adaption; Ani Katchova, AAEA, Outstanding Research/Quality of Communication Award
  • Positions Taken By Recent Graduates: Kathryn Rose, PhD, Environmental Protection Agency; Hongxing Liu, PhD, Lafayette College; Isha Rajbhandari, PhD, University of the Puget Sound; Michael Farren, PhD, Mercatus Center Research Fellow; Elizabeth Botkins, PhD, USDA Economic Research Service
  • Retirement: David Kraybill, 25 Years of Service

Purdue University

  • New Appointments: Jayson Lusk, Head of Department; Maria Marshall, Extension Coordinator; Marshall Martin, Associate Editor
  • Appointment Change: Marshall Martin, Interim Director of the Indiana Agricultural Experiment Station
  • Honorary Position: Brigitte Waldorf, Editorial Board of the Review of Regional Research, 2017-2021
  • Awards: Jayson Lusk, Western Agricultural Economics Association, Fellow; Michael Gunderson, NACTA, John Deere Award

Texas A&M University

  • New Appointment: Clark Springfield, Professor of Practice
  • Appointment Changes: Luis Ribera, Professor and Extension Specialist; Henry Bryant,  Research Professor
  • Awards: Nathan Harness, Dallas Financial Planning Association, 2017 Chairman’s Award; Levi Russell, Mac Young, Bill Thompson, and Emmy Kiphen, Southern Risk Management Education Committee, 2017 Project of Excellence Award
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Kunlapath “Joy” Sukcharoen, PhD, Assistant Professor, West Texas A&M University; Ruoxi Lu, Ph.D., Economist, Amazon

Virginia Tech

  • Honorary Positions: Dan Taylor, Professor Emeritus, Virginia Tech, September 2017; Steve Blank, Professor Emeritus, Virginia Tech, September 2017