Back to Top

People Section

University of Arizona

  • Retirement: Dennis C. Cory, 40 years of service

University of California, Davis

  • New Appointment: Jens Hilscher, Associate Professor
  • Appointment Changes: J. Edward Taylor, Professor, Co-Vice Chair of Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics; Aaron Smith, Professor, Co-Vice Chair of Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics.
  • Awards: Alan Olmstead and Paul W. Rhode, 2016 Allan Sharlin Memorial Award for Arresting Contagion: Science, Policy, and Conflicts over Animal Disease Control

Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo:

  • Leaves: Lynn Hamilton (Teaching abroad in Adelaide, Australia); Michael McCullough, Washington State University (Sabbatical)

Colorado State University

  • Award: Dawn Thilmany, FDRS Panyko Award for Distinguished Service, 2016
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Brian Quay, MS, Economist, Center for Disease Control (CDC), Cincinnati; Michelle Kibler, PhD, Assistant Professor of Agribusiness, Illinois State University; Eric Scorsone, PhD, Director, Michigan State University Extension Center for Local Government Finance and Policy
  • Return from Leave: Andy Seidl

USDA Economic Research Service

  • New Appointments: Lekhnath Chalise, Agricultural Economist; Kamron Daugherty, Agricultural Economist; Russell Knight, Agricultural Economist
  • Award: Jayson Beckman, John Dyck, and Tani Lee, USDA, Lincoln Award
  • Retirement: Stacey Rosen, 33.5 years of service
  • Resignations: Kandice Marshall; Nzinga Broussard


  • New Appointments: Mulubrhan Amare, Associate Research Fellow; Eduardo Nakasone, Associate Research Fellow
  • Award: Barun Deb Pal, International Conference on Input-Output Economics, International Input-Output Association (IIOA), Ghosh Memorial Prize
  • Honorary Positions: Suresh Babu, Extraordinary Professor of Agricultural Economics, University of Pretoria, South Africa.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • New Appointment: Sean Fox, Professor and Department Head

Iowa State University

  • Retirement: John Beghin, 18 years of service

University of Maryland

  • New Appointment: Jing Cai, Assistant Professor

University of Missouri

  • New Appointment: Haluk Gedikoglu, Adjunct Faculty
  • Appointment Changes: Joe Parcell, Interim Director, Division of Applied Social Sciences and MFA Professor of Agribusiness; Harvey James, Professor and Chair, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Yubing Fan, PhD, Post Doc, Texas A&M AgriLife Research -Vernon, TX
  • Honorary Position: Patrick Westhoff, Honorary Professor, Konya Food and Agriculture University, Konya, Turkey, Dec. 1, 2016 to Dec. 1, 2018
  • Return from Leave: Wyatt Thompson

New Mexico State University

  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: David Jaime, Solution Specialist, ADAMA Agriculture Solutions 
  • Retirements: L. Allen Torell, 31 Years of Service; James D. Libbin, 38 Years of Service
  • Resignation: Steve Archambault

The Ohio State University

  • Positions Taken By Recent Graduates: Nicholas Irwin, PhD, Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics, The Ohio State University; Min Su Jun, PhD, Research Fellow, Department of Industry & Strategy, Samsung Economic Research Institute, Seoul, South Korea
  • Resignation: Matthew Roberts

Purdue University

  • Honorary Positions: Brigitte Waldorf, President of the Epainos Award Committee, European Regional Science Congress; Raymond Florax, Editorial Board, Spatial Econometrics and Spatial Statistics published by Elsevier
  • Returns from Leave: Nicole Widmar returned from leave January 1; Holly Wang returned from leave January 1.

Texas A&M

  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Jing Yi, PhD, Post-Doctorate Research Associate, Charles H. Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management, Cornell University; Jing Li, MS, Business Analyst, Element Box Inc.; Wesley Regmund, MS, Policy Analyst, AgriLogic Consulting, LLC; Clayton Roots, MS, Cotton Analyst, Cargill; Kendra Williamson, MS, Performance Analyst, EDP Renewables; Andrew Buch, MAB, Associate Economic Valuation Services, KPMG; Katerina McDermit, MAB, District Sales Manager, Monsanto; Lauren Ostrowski, MAB, Global Procurement Analyst, Pepsico
  • Visitor: Hovhannes Yertsyan, Visiting Research Scholar, Carnegie Fellow, January 15 - May 15, 2017

Virginia Tech

  • Honorary Position: Jeffrey Alwang, Dingying Guest Professor, South China Agricultural University, 2017-2020
  • Retirement: Daniel Kauffman, 16 years of service