Back to Top

People Section

University of Arizona

  • New Appointments: Daniel Scheitrum, Assistant Professor; Na Zuo, Assistant Professor of Practice
  • Award: Na Zuo, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Graduate Student Teaching Award

University of California, Davis

  • Awards: Julian Alston, 2017 AAEA Annual Meeting, Distinguished Professor, Fellows address; Michael Carter, School of Economics of the University of Cape Town, Honorary Professor; Diane Charlton and Ed Taylor,  Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Quality of Research Discovery Award (Honorable Mention); Julian Alston, Joanna P. MacEwan, and Abigail M. Okrent, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy Article Award; Julian Alston, Joanna P. MacEwan, and Abigail M. Okrent, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Food Safety & Nutrition Section’s Award for Best Paper in 2016; John Bovay and Julian Alston, WAEA, Award for best article in the Journal of Agricultural and Resource Economics; Christopher Gustafson, Travis Lybbert and Dan Sumner, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Best Article in Agricultural Economics 2016; Christian Lovell, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Anthony Grano Scholarship; Irvin Rojas, University of California, Davis, Graduate Student Travel Award
  • Honorary Positions:  Irvin Rojas, PhD Student, Visiting Fellow, Cornell University, 2017-2018; Saleh Zakerinia, MS Student, Visiting Fellow, Cornell University, Summer 2017; Xiurou Wu, PhD Student, Visiting Fellow, Cornell University, Summer 2017
  • Resignation: C.-Y. Cynthia Lin Lawell

Cal Poly- San Luis Obispo:

  • Honorary Position: Christiane Schroeter, Chair-Elect, AAEA-FAMPS, August 2017-August 2018
  • Award: Jeta Rudi (with Metin Cakir, University of Minnesota), Outstanding Published Research Paper, AAEA-FAMPS

Colorado State University

  • New appointments: Jude  Bayham, Assistant Professor; Dan Mooney, Assistant Professor; Hayley Chouinard, Department Head
  • Awards: Stephen Koontz, Western Agricultural Economics Association, 2017 Outstanding Extension Program Award for Career; Wilson Sinclair, Western Agricultural Economics Association, placed second in 2017 Graduate Student Paper Competition; Dawn Thilmany McFadden (team leader), Becca Jablonski, Becky Hill, & Allie Bauman, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, 2017 Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Honorable Mention; Ellie Nassz, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, 2017 winner of Graduate Student Extension Competition
  • Positions taken by recent graduates: Jason Holderieath, PhD, Assistant Professor, Agribusiness Louisiana Tech University; Jenny Apriesnig, PhD, Post Doc, Arizona State University; Alex Maas, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Idaho, Moscow; Aaisha Al Maamari, MS, Teacher of Natural Resources, Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
  • Resignations: Joleen Hadrich

Cornell University

  • New Appointment: C.-Y. Cynthia Lin Lawell, Rob Dyson Sesquicentennial Chair of Resource Economics

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • New Appointments: Ben Gramig, Associate Professor; Michel Robe, Associate Professor; Craig Lemoine, Director, Financial Planning Program
  • Appointment Change: Peter Goldsmith, Professor
  • Awards: Phil Garcia, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, 2017 Fellow; Barrett Kirwan, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Quality of Research Discovery Award
  • Leaves: Peter Goldsmith, August 2017- May 2018; Hayri Onal, August 2017-January 2018
  • Retirements: Darrel Good, 41 years of service
  • Resignations: Barrett Kirwan

Kansas State University

  • Appointment Changes: Jason Bergtold, Professor; Mykel Taylor, Associate Professor; Siny Joseph, Associate Professor
  • Award: Jeff Williams, Kansas State University, David Mugler Award
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Melissa McKendree, PhD, Assistant Professor, Michigan State University
  • Retirements: Bryan Schurle, 40 years of service

University of Maryland

  • Appointment Change: Pamela Jakiela, Associate Professor
  • Return from Leave: Richard E. Just
  • Visitor: ​Stefan Wimmer, PhD Student, Technical University of Munich, Visiting Scholar, August 2017- September 2017​

University of Missouri

  • Award: Harvey James, University of Missouri, Pacheco Leadership Development Program
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Kateryna Schroeder, PhD,  Agricultural Economist, World Bank

Mississippi State University

  • New Appointments: Andrew Stevens, Assistant Professor; Eunchun Park, Assistant Professor; Seong Yun, Assistant Professor; McKenzie Maples, Instructor

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Awards: Konstantinos Giannakas and Murray Fulton, Canadian Agricultural Economics Society, Publication of Enduring Quality Award; Christopher Gustafson, Travis Lybbert, and Dan Sumner, Journal of Agricultural Economics, Best article in Agricultural Economics; Brad Lubben, National Association of Agricultural Economics Administrators, 2017 NAAEA Early Career Professional Award
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Stamatina Kotsakou, MS, PhD Program at the University of California, Davis; Nadeeka Weerasekara, MS, PhD Program at Oregon State University

The Ohio State University

  • New Appointments: Lawson Connor, Post Doctoral Researcher in Agribusiness; Ana Claudia Sant’Anna, Post Doctoral Researcher in Agribusiness
  • Positions Taken By Recent Graduates: Richard A. Gallenstein, PhD, Assistant Professor, Catholic University of America; Khushbu K. Mishra, PhD, Assistant Professor, Stetson University

Purdue University

  • New Appointment: Jayson Lusk, Head of the Department of Agricultural Economics            
  • Awards; Jayson Lusk, Western Agricultural Economics Association (WAEA), 2017 Fellow; Michael Gunderson, North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture, NACTA John Deere Award; Brigitte Waldorf, Review of Regional Research, Editorial Board, 2017 to 2021
  • Resignations: Benjamin Gramig
  • Visitors: Luciano Castro, Professor of Agribusiness, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil, Visiting Professor, Center for Food and Agricultural Business; Sara Pinho, Master’s student, Sao Paulo State University, Brazil, working with Dr. Kwamena Quagrainie

University of Rhode Island

  • Appointment Changes: Corey Lang, Associate Professor; Tom Sproul, Associate Professor 
  • Returns from Leave: Hiro Uchida

Sam Houston State University

  • Appointment Change: L.A. Wolfskill, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Awards: Shyam S. Nair, NACTA Educator Award; Foy D. Mills, Jr., Sam Houston State University College of Science and Engineering Technology Faculty Excellence in Teaching award

Texas A&M University

  • Awards: Rebekka Dudensing, Southern Rural Development Center, Bonnie Teater Award; Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Panhandle District, Team Teaching Award and Visionary Leadership Award; Vicky Salin, International Food and Agribusiness Management Association, 2017 IFAMA Fellow Award; Reid Stevens, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Honorable Mention for the Quality of Communications Award 
  • Retirement: Danny Klinefelter, 38 Years of Service

Texas Tech University

  • Awards: Darren Hudson, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Outstanding Professor, 2017
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Luis Sandoval Mejia, PhD, Assistant Professor, Zamorano University, Honduras

Virginia Tech

  • New Appointments: Matthew Holt, Professor and Department Head; Susan Chen, Associate Professor
  • Award: George Davis, Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, Quality of Communication Award
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Bret Hathaway, MS, Sr. Commodities Procurement Specialist, Pinnacle Foods; Sarah McKay, MS, Market Development Manager, National Corn Growers Association