Back to Top

People Section

University of California, Berkeley

  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Patrick Baylis, Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia; Lei Cheng, Assistant Professor, Wuhan University; Walter Graf, Associate, The Brattle Group; Angeli Kirk, Staff Economist, Premise Data Corporation; Daley Kutzman, Assistant Professor, Northwestern University; Eduardo Montoya, Associate, Cornerstone Research; Moon Parks, Senior Economist, United States Government Accountability Office; Obie Porteous, Assistant Professor, Middlebury College; Zhen Sun, Assistant Professor, Tsinghua University; Dilek Uz, Assistant Professor, University of Nevada, Reno; Yang Xie, Assistant Professor, University of California, Riverside
  • Award: Sylvan Herskowitz, AAEA, 2015 Luther G. Tweeten Student Scholarship
  • Visitor: Xiaolu Liu, Associate Professor, Renmin University, China, Visiting Scholar, February 22, 2016-February 21, 2017

University of California, Davis

  • Appointment Changes: Tim Beatty, Professor, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics; Katrina Jessoe, Associate Professor, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
  • Awards: Gabriel Lade, National Center for Sustainable Transportation, 2015 Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year; Emilia Tjernstrom, PhD, 2015 Gordon A. King Award for Best Dissertation
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates; Zoe Plakais, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics, The Ohio State University; Abbie Turiansky, PhD, Researcher, Mathematica Policy Research, Center for International Policy Research and Evaluation; Gabriel Sampson, PhD, Assistant Professor, Kansas State University, Department of Agricultural Economics; Jisang Yu, PhD, Assistant Professor, Kansas State University, Department of Agricultural Economics; Diane Charlton, PhD, Assistant Professor, Montana State University, Department of Agricultural Economics and Economics; Wenbo Zou, PhD, Assistant Professor, Nankai Experimental Economics Laboratory, Nankai University, China; Jacob Marder, PhD, Economic Consultant, Robins Kaplan LLP; Christine Carroll, PhD, Assistant Professor, College of Agriculture, California State University, Chico; Justin Beaudoin, PhD, Assistant Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, University of Washington at Tacoma
  • Leaves: J. Edward Taylor, October 1, 2015 – July 1, 2016; Aaron Smith, November 1, 2015- July 1, 2016; Leslie Butler, January 1, 2016- April 1, 2016; Lovell Jarvis, October 1, 2015- April 1, 2016
  • Visitors: James Eaves, Associate Professor, Department of Management Pavillon Palasis-Prince QC, Canada; Visiting Scholar, September 1, 2015- August 30, 2016; Andrea Dal Bianco, PhD. Research Fellow, Tesaf Department, University of Padua; Visiting Scholar, November 2, 2015- May 31, 2016; Arnar Buason, PhD Student, School of Economics and Business, Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Visiting Student, September 1, 2015- August 31, 2016

University of Connecticut

  • New Appointments: Emma Bojinova, Lecturer; Tatiana Andreyeva, Associate Professor; John Bovay, Assistant Professor
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Alessandro Bonanno, Assistant Professor, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, Colorado State University; Rebecca Cleary, Postdoctoral Fellow, Pennsylvania State University’s Northeast Center for Rural Development; Diouma Faye, Chief of Production & Marketing at the National Program of Agricultural Areas Community, Senegal; Tsvetan Tsvetanov, Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Kansas; Erin Pirro, Agricultural Business Consultant, Farm Credit East; Chen Zhu, Assistant Professor, College of Economics and Research Management, China Agricultural University
  • Retirement: Marilyn Altobello, 36 Years of Service
  • Resignation: Ben Campbell
  • Visitors: Yuanhong Liao, China Agricultural University, August 2015 – July 2016

Economic Research Service-USDA

  • New Appointment: Gregory Astill, Research Economist, Crops Branch, ERS-USDA
  • Appointment Changes: Erik Dohlman, Director of Fibers, Peanuts, and Tobacco Analysis Group, FSA-USDA; Keithly Jones, Senior Cross Commodity Analyst, ERS-USDA

International Food Policy Research Institute

  • New Appointments: Kimsey Savadogo, Senior Research Fellow; Jose Luis Figueroa, Associate Research Fellow; Bob Baulch, Senior Research Fellow       
  • Awards: Ousmane Badiane, Yara International, 2015 Yara Prize; John McDermott, International Society for Veterinary Epidemiology and Economics, Peter Ellis Award; Alemayehu Seyoum Taffesse, Modernizing African Food Systems Consortium, Agricultural Role Model
  • Honorary Position: Apurba Shee, Associate Editor, Agricultural Finance Review Journal

University of Maryland

  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Rubaba Ali, PhD, Economist, Fannie Mae
  • Award: Paul Goeringer, UMD College of Agriculture Alumni Association, Excellence in Extension Award

University of Missouri

  • Awards: Pat Westhoff and Peter Zimmel, Texas A&M University, Vice Chancellor's Award of Excellence; FAPRI,  Southern Agricultural Economics Association, Outstanding Extension Program; Pat Westhoff, USDA Economist Group, Bruce Gardner Visiting Economist Award
  •  Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Iddisah Sulemana, PhD, Lecturer of Economics, Business School, Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration
  • Visitors: Julien Cadot, Professor, International Business School – Paris, France, Visiting Researcher, February 22- March 11, 2016; Mary Carey, Fulbright Scholar, University College Dublin (Ireland), Visiting Scholar, January 18-May 17, 2016; Erika Carnevale, PhD Candidate, University of Bologna (Italy), Visiting Scholar, February 1- August 31, 2016

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Award: Brad Lubben, Jessica Groskopf, Jim Jansen, Tim Lemmons, Robert Tigner, Monte Vandeveer, Allan Vyhnalek, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Omtvedt Team Award for Extension Farm Bill Education, 2016.

The Ohio State University

  • Honorary Positions: Ian Sheldon, Andersons Endowed Chair in Agricultural Marketing, Trade, and Policy, The Ohio State University, through August 31, 2020
  • Visitors: Shilel Liu, Visiting Scholar, Peking University, China; Chia-Yu Yeh, Visiting Scholar, Taiwan

Purdue University

  • New Appointment: Nathan Thompson, Assistant Professor
  • Awards: Marshall Martin, Meritorious Service, Indiana Corporate Pork Board; Joan Fulton, 2016 Leadership in Action Award, Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence; Jess Lowenberg-DeBoer, College of Agriculture Professor of Excellence in International Entrepreneurship, Board of Trustees, Purdue University

Washington State University

  • Awards: Jill McCluskey, College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences, Washington State University, Faculty Excellence in Research Award
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Gregory Astill, PhD, Economist, Economic Research Service-USDA; Paul Ervin, PhD, Social Investigation Specialist, Ministry of Economic and Social Development – Paraguay; Lyliana Gayoso de Ervin, PhD, Senior Economist, Ministry of Economic Planning – Paraguay; Zarrina Juraqulova, PhD, Assistant Professor, Dension University; Darlington Sabasi, PhD, Assistant Professor, Beloit College; Pitchayaporn Tantihkarnchana, Instructor, Penn State University; Dustin White, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Nebraska, Omaha