Back to Top

People Section


University of California – Davis

  • New Appointments: Tim Beatty, Associate Professor; Quentin Stoeffler, Post-doctoral Fellow
  • Award: Aaron Smith, AAEA, Quality of Communication Award
  • Honorary Position: Michael Carter, Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research
  • Returns from Leave: Steve Boucher; Pierre Mérel
  • Retirement: Richard Howitt, 44 years of service
  • Visitor: Yauhara Shimamura, Associate Professor, Kobe University, Visiting Professor, September 2014-February 2015.

California Polytechnic State University

  • Award: Christiane Schroeter, California Polytechnic State University, Faculty Fellow

Colorado State University

  • Appointment Change: James Pritchett, Assistant VP in Office of Engagement
  • Awards: Dr. Kellie Enns, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities, New Teacher Award; Becca Jablonski, Food Distribution Research Society, The Richardson-Applebaum Award; Tyler Cozzens, Colorado State University, Jack L. Smith Scholarship; Michelle Kibler and Janine Stone, Colorado State University, S. Lee Gray Scholarship; Alex Maas, Colorado State University, Dr. Robert A. Young Scholarship; Emily Rudder, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, National Association of Agricultural Educators (NAAE) scholarship
  • Leave: Dr. Stephan Kroll sabbatical, WZB (Berlin Social Science Center) and PIK (Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany), January 1 to May 15, 2015

Cornell University

  • Awards: David Just, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University, Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Applied Research; Miguel Gomez, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University, Rising Star Faculty Award

University of Delaware

  • Honorary Position: Titus Awokuse, Nigerian National Agricultural Policy Committee, University of Delaware

University of Idaho

  • Award: Amy Hilland, AAEA, Outstanding M.S. thesis Award
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Stephen Turi, MS, Analyst, US Bureau of Labor Statistics
  • Retirement: C. Wilson Gray,  34 years of service

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • New Appointment: Teresa Serra Devesa, Associate Professor

International Food Policy Research Institute

  • New Appointments: Lieven Huybregts, Research Fellow; Isabel Lambrecht, Associate Research Fellow
  • Awards: Ruth Meinzen-Dick, Land and Ecosystems, “Best Outcome Story” award; Nurul Islam, Bangladesh Development Initiative, Lifetime Achievement Award

University of Kentucky

  • New Appointments: Yuqing Zheng, Assistant Professor; Todd Davis, Assistant Extension Professor
  • Appointment Change: Alison Davis, Extension Professor
  • Awards: Ben Collier, 2014 AAEA Outstanding Dissertation Award; Tyler Mark, 2014 AAEA / C-FARE Early Career Leadership Award; Ani Katchova, Economic Research Service, 2014 Bruce Gardner Outstanding Visiting Economist Award
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Vijay Subramaniam, PhD, Assistant Professor, Morehead State University
  • Honorary Position: Mike Reed, Maejo University, Honorary Ph.D. in Business Administration

University of Maryland

  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Eduardo Nakasone, PhD, Assistant Professor, Michigan State University; Pinar Gunes, PhD, Instructor, University of Alberta

Michigan State University

  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Helder Zavale, PhD, Assistant Professor, Eduardo Mondlane University; Sara Qanti, MS, Assistant Professor Agriculture, Padjadjaran University; Ty Lawson, MS, Presidential Management Fellow, National Institutes of Health; Alexandra Peralta, PhD, Lecturer, University of Adelaide
  • Visitor: Jianxin Guo, Research Associate Professor, Institute of Information on Agricultural Science and Technology, Visiting Scholar, 2014-2015

University of Missouri

  • New Appointment: Jamille Palacois Rivera, Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Catharine Weber, MS, Agricultural Economist, SES, Inc.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • New Appointment: Nicholas Brozovic, Associate Professor and Director of Policy for the Robert B. Daugherty Water for Food Institute
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Sarah Rehkamp, Agricultural Economist, Food Markets Branch, FED, Economic Research Service, USDA
  • Retirement: Gary D. Lynne, 19 years of service

New Mexico State University

  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Patricia Sanchez, Master of Science in Agricultural Economics, International Settlement Auditor, Miami, Florida; Hector Hernandez, Master of Science in Agricultural Economics, PhD Graduate Assistant, University of Illinois; Pablo D. Mayen, Master of Science in Agricultural Economics, Accounting Analyst, Agri Stats, Inc.; Eduardo Medina, Master of Agriculture with concentration in Agribusiness, Agricultural Mediator, New Mexico State University

North Dakota State University

  • Award: Dr. Frayne Olson, Association for Communication Excellence, Communicator of the Year

The Ohio State University

  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Jason Bienenfeld, Marketing Analyst, Fidelity Investment; Kyle Fluegge, Post Doctoral Fellow, Case Western Reserve University
  • Visitors: Bao, Lin, Associate Professor, Jiangsu Normal University, P.R China; Cardosa, Leonardo Chaves Borges, Visiting Scholar, Universidade Federal De Parana, PhD Candidate; Kang, Hye-Jung, Associate Professor, Chonnam National University, Korea, August 2014 – July 2015; Tang, Yingmei, Associate Professor, Nanjing Agricultural University; Feng, Zhe, Peking University, Beijing, China

Purdue University

  • Appointments: Otto Doering, Department of Interior’s Invasive Species Advisory Committee
  • Awards: Raymond Florax, European Investment Bank , European Prize in Regional Science; Nicole Olynk Widmar, Purdue University Cooperative Extension Specialists Association, PUCESA Early Career Award; Corinne Alexander, Purdue University Cooperative Extension Specialists Association, PUCESA Mid Career Award; Jim Mintert, Purdue University Cooperative Extension Specialists Association, Purdue Extension Director’s Award; Janet Ayres, Purdue University Cooperative Extension Specialists Association, IACED Rural Development Leadership Award

Sam Houston State University

  • New Appointments:  Jason Franken, Assistant Professor; Shyam Nair, Assistant Professor
  • Awards:  Foy Mills, Jr., Non-land-grant Agricultural and Renewable Resources Universities (NARRU), Distinguished Educator Award; Kyle Ferrell, Foy Mills, Jr. and Thomas Sosebee, TBLC, Outstanding Poster- Innovation Track; Kyle Ferrell, NACTA, 2nd place Graduate Student Poster Competition

USDA - Economic Research Service

  • New Appointments: Seth Wechsler, Economist; Maria Bowman, Economist; Sarah Tulman, Economist; Christopher Burns, Economist; Dan Prager Economist; Elina Tselepidakis, Economist; Megan Sweitzer, Economist; Sarah Rehkamp, Economist
  • Retirement: Carol Jones, 22 years of services
  • Resignations: Jeremy Weber; Michael Livingston