Back to Top

University of Arizona

  • Awards: Tatiana Marquez, First Place, 2014 USDA/NIFA, American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education, Food and Agricultural Sciences Masterʼs Thesis Award Competition
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Hunter Richards, MS, Research Economist, The Balmoral Group, Orlando, Florida; Tatiana Marquez, MS, Environmental and Natural Resource Economist, National Park Service, Denver, Colorado
  • Return From Leave: Gary Thompson

University of California, Berkeley

  • Award: George Judge, Entropy Best Paper Award 2014 First Prize, "Entropy: The Markov Ordering Approach," Entropy, 2010, 12(5), 1145-1193

University of California, Davis

  • Awards: Joeri De Wit, UC Davis ARE Department, Gordon A. King Outstanding Dissertation Award for his dissertation entitled: "Economics of California's The Geysers – Geothermal Stream Field"; Joseph Janzen, UC Davis ARE Department, Gordon A. King Outstanding Dissertation Award, Honorable Mention, for his dissertation entitled: "Three Essays on Price Discovery in the Cotton Futures Market."
  • Honorary Position: Lovell Tu Jarvis, Professor, Chair of the Chile California Council, 2013-14
  • Position Taken By Recent Graduate: Kate Fuller, PhD, Assistant Professor, Montana State University, July 2014

Colorado State University

  • Leave: James Prittchett, Faculty-in-Residence, Lincoln University, Lincoln, New Zealand, January-July 2014

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • New Appointments: Hope Michelson, Assistant Professor; Christine Richmond, Assistant Professor; John Newton, Clinical Assistant Professor
  • Retirement: Rob Hornbaker, 29 years

International Food Policy Research Institute

  • New Appointments: Jarilkasin Ilyasov, Research Analyst; Yukie Forman, Travel Assistant; Malika Shampine, Human Resource Coordinator; Deirdre Launt, Graphic Designer; Rachael Brown, Sr. Research Assistant; Ikram Lakhdhar, Program Assistant; Jay Papisan, Sr. Research Analyst; Vijay Nazareth, Sr. Research Assistant; David Cozac, Communications Specialist; Nyllan Fye, Program Assistant; Arame Tall, Associate Research Fellow; Cristina Perez, Knowledge Management Systems Coordinator; Erica Smith, Intern; Jane Lole, Senior Research Assistant; Gao Lang, Sr. Research Assistant; Silu Zhang, Administrative Coordinator
  • Awards: Shenggen Fan, World Economic Forum Annual Meeting in Davos, Switzerland, World Food Programme, Hunger Hero Award, in recognition of his commitment to and leadership in fighting hunger worldwide; Sam Dryden, Fellow Award, Senior Fellow at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; Marc Van Ameringen, Fellow Award, Executive Director of the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN).
  • Honorary Positions: Pramod Kumar Joshi, 2014 President of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, Mumbai and 2014 President of the 28th Conference of Indian Society of Agricultural Marketing, Hyderabad; Alexander Saak, Associate Editor, American Journal of Agricultural Economics

Kansas State University

  • Award: Glynn Tonsor, SAEA Outstanding Extension Program Award

Michigan State University

  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Jacob Coulibaly, MS, Lecturer, Katibougou Rural Polytechnic Institute for Training and Applied Research, Department of Socio-economics at Mali’s College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Mali

Mississippi State University

  • New Appointment: Alba Collart, Assistant Extension Professor
  • Award: Matt Interis, 2014 SAEA Emerging Scholar Award
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Evan Spencer, BS, USA Rice, Manager, Economic and Policy Analysis; Walt Stevens, BS, named city president for Regions Bank, Greenville, MS
  • Honorary Positions: Barry Barnett, Professor, President, Southern Agricultural Economics Association
  • Resignation: James C. (Corey) Miller

University of Missouri

  • Awards: Abner Womack, American Farm Bureau Federation, Distinguished Service Award; Kateryna Goychuk Schroeder, AAEA Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship
  • Honorary Position: William Meyers, Scientific Advisory Board, Leibniz Institute of Agriculture Development in Transition Economies (IAMO)
  • Visitor: Maryline Filippi, Professor, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Sciences Agronomiques de Bordeaux Aquatine: Bordeaux Sciences Agro (ex ENITAB), Visting Researcher, January–August, 2014; Elena Garnevska, Senior Lecturer in Agribusiness, Massey University, Visiting Researcher, January-June, 2014

North Dakota State University

  • Award: Cheryl J. Wachenheim, College of Agriculture, Food Systems and Natural
  • Resources, William J. and Angelyn A. Austin Excellence in Advising Award
  • Visitor: Myong Hyun Kim, Student, Korea University, visiting student, August, 2014

The Ohio State University

Oklahoma State University

  • Awards: Kim Anderson, SAEA Lifetime Achievement Award; Jody Campiche, named Southern Agricultural Economics Association Director (2014-2017); Shannon Ferrell, American Agricultural Law Association Board of Directors; Bailey Norwood, Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources  James A. Whatley Award for Meritorious Research in Agricultural Science; Dave Shideler, 2013 Bonnie Teater Community Development Early Career Achievement Award from the Southern Rural Development Center

Texas A&M University

  • Awards: John Nichols, SAEA Lifetime Achievement Award; Dean McCorkle, Dan Hanselka, David Anderson, Steven Klose, John Robinson and Mark Waller, SAEA Outstanding Extension Program Team Award, Economic Impact Analysis; DeDe Jones, Jay Yates and  Dean McCorkle, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Superior Service Award
  • Positions Taken By Recent Graduates: Kasey Deanne Amor, MS, Investment Banking Analyst, Avalon; Devin Richard Peterson, MS, Agricultural Consultant, Cooper Norman; David Magana Lemus, PhD, Economic Research Specialist, FIRA Banco de Mexico; Christopher Scott Rowland, PhD, Fundamental Analyst, Chevron Downstream & Chemicals; Marta Wlodarz, PhD, Post-Doctorate, ETH Zurich University; Kelli Barnes, MS, Global Procurement Analyst, PepsiCola Company; Lucas Balustein, MS, Global Procurement Analyst, PepsiCola Company; Matthew Cleaver, MS,
  • Consultant, Roll Global; Natalia Correa, MS, Strategy Analyst, U.S. Products Exchange; Fangfang He, MS, Policy Analyst, AgriLogic; Lauren James, MS, Relationship Analyst, RaboBank; Jeremy Maupin, MS, Production, TXL Mortgages; Tyler McGee, MS, Infrastructure Service Delivery Manager, Syngenta; Emmanuelle Revole, MS, Market Analyst, Texas Engineering Extension Service; Yan Wang, MS, Transfer Pricing Intern, Weatherford

USDA-Economic Research Service

  • New Appointments: Kari Heerman, Research Agricultural Economist, Market and Trade Economics Division; Lindsay Kuberka, Agricultural Economist, Market and Trade Economics Division; Alex Melton, Agricultural Economist, Market and Trade Economics Division; Sahar Angadjivand, Agricultural Economist, Market and Trade Economics Division
  • Award: Ronald Trostle, USDA Economists, W. Fred Woods Award for Excellence in Economic Policy Research and Education
  • Retirement: Richard Stillman, 33 years of service

Washington State University

  • New Appointments:  Jinhui Bai, Associate Professor
  • Appointment Changes: Andrew Cassey, Associate Professor with tenure; Ana Espinola, Associate Professor with tenure; R. Karina Gallardo, Associate Professor with tenure; Felix Munoz, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Rebekah Schrader, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, Cal State University, Stanislaus; Ben Smith, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, University of Nebraska, Omaha; Jadrian Wooten, PhD, Lecturer, Department of Economics, Penn State University