Back to Top

Submit a Fellows Nominations

2021 Fellows Award Nominations

Call for Nominations

The AAEA Fellows Selection Committee is inviting nominations for the 2022 AAEA Fellows Awards. The deadline for submission of nominations and supporting biographical documentation is Wednesday, October 6, 2021. Selection is based mainly on a continuous contribution to the advancement of agricultural or applied economics as defined by the Vision Statement of the AAEA. Achievements may be in research, teaching, extension, administration, or business. The nominee must be a living current member of AAEA and have been a member for at least five years.

Please follow these guidelines to submit Fellows nominations (non-complying materials will be returned). The nomination package should focus on documentation of the case for the nominee’s contributions rising to a level that warrants recognition as a Fellow. "Continuous contribution" means exceptional service over a period of years. Such exceptional service may be demonstrated by: research discoveries published in major professional journals; leadership in the development of extension programs extensively utilized by other professionals; the development of undergraduate or graduate programs of learning that have become nationally recognized professionally and by students who have, in turn, demonstrated success as a result of these teaching programs; contributions to advance diversity, equity and inclusion objectives in the broader profession through for example, teaching, research collaboration, professional leadership, or outreach to, engagement with, and mentoring of individuals from underrepresented groups; or outstanding performance in government, business, or NGOs. As a general principle, continuous service means more than a single act that might be rewarded by an outstanding journal article, extension, or teaching award. The documentation for the nominee provided should make clear the impact of the individual nominated in the areas of achievement to which the nominee has contributed. This evidence could include, but is not limited to, reference to publications, awards, honors, reports, testimonials to notable tasks undertaken and outcomes achieved, or other contributions to the profession.

Members of the Fellows Selection Committee and AAEA Executive Committee

(President-Elect, President, or Past President) may not nominate or provide support statements for nominees. Nomination packages that include support statements from a member of the Fellows Selection Committee and/or the AAEA Executive Committee will be sent back to the nominator for revisions.

Testimonial letters or vitae are not required. The total nomination package should be limited to a maximum of eight typed pages using 12-point font and with margins of at least one inch on all four sides. All material must be double-spaced. Please include the name, institution, and contact information of all of the nominators within the eight page package. Nominations should be submitted as a single PDF file to Allison Ware at Please contact Allison if you have any questions.

The 2022 Fellows Recognition Ceremony will be held as part of the 2022 AAEA Annual Meeting in Anaheim, CA. Information on previous AAEA Fellows and the procedures used to select Fellows is available on the AAEA Fellows page.

AAEA Executive Committee

Keith Coble, President; David Zilberman, Past President; Dawn Thilmany, President-Elect

2020 Fellows Selection Committee

Committee Chair: Jeff Dorfman
Committee Members: David Zilberman (Board Liaison), Ron Mittelhammer, Helen Jensen, James MacDonald, Wade Brorsen, David Hennessy, Chris Barrett, Junjie Wu, Julie Caswell, Bruce McCarl, Edward Taylor, Laurian Unnevehr, Rob King, Jayson Lusk, Damona Doye