Back to Top

People Section

University of Arkansas

  • New Appointments: Hannah Shear, Instructor; Di Fang, Assistant Professor

University of Delaware

  • Honorary Position: George Parsons, Board Member, Society of Benefit-Cost Analysis

Economic Research Service, USDA

  • New Appointments: Alana Rhone, Agriculture Economist; Young Jo,  Agriculture Economist

Mississippi State University

  • New Appointment: Steve Turner, Director of the Southern Rural Development Center
  • Resignation: Steve Turner

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Visitor: Paulo de Tarso de L. Pires, Professor, Federal University of Parana, Fulbright Visiting Scholar, January 2016-May 2016

New Mexico State University

  • New Appointment:  John Townsend, College Professor
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Marissa Bartmann, Master of Agriculture with specialization in Agribusiness; Erly Kueain, Master of Science in Agricultural Economics

Washington State University

  • Appointment Change: Ron Mittelhammer, Interim Provost
  • Award: Tom Marsh, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Fellow
  • Position Taken by Recent Graduate: Pratikshya Sapkota Bastola, PhD, Model Validation Senior, Freddie Mac

West Virginia University

  • New Appointments: Levan Elbakidze, Assistant Professor; Heather Stephens, Assistant Professor
  • Awards: Xiaoli Etienne, Oklahoma State University, Big 12 Faculty Fellowship program; Michael Strager, WVU Foundation, Outstanding Teacher award; Gerard D’Souza, Agricultural & Resource Economics Review, Fellow
  • Positions Taken by Recent Graduates: Chris Shultz, PhD, Natural Resource Economics: Quantitative Analyst /Assistant  Vice-President, Model Validation Group, State Street Corporation; Inocencio Rodriguez, PhD, Natural Resource Economics: Assistant Professor, Department of Social Sciences, University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo.
  • Honorary Positions: Donald Lacombe, Co-Editor of Papers in Regional Science, Regional Science Association International (RSAI); Heather Stephens, North American Editor, Regional Studies, Regional Science, 2015-2018.