## Annual Report to the AAEA Executive Board (2000-2001) AAEA Food Safety and Nutrition Section

The Section is "up and running". The Food Safety and Nutrition (FSN) Section currently has 76 dues-paying members and moved from probationary status to full section status within AAEA this year. The Section had three main activities this year: organizing and submitting a Track proposal for the 2001 AAEA meetings; reviewing and developing a revised set of bylaws; and co-sponsoring a conference on food safety held by Resources for the Future in May 2001.

## 1. FSN Section Track at the 2001 AAEA meetings.

Members of the FSN Section's executive committee worked with section members to develop a Track proposal for the AAEA meetings. The track includes four organized symposia and one free session. The organized symposia are on the following topics: Potential Pitfalls of Food Safety and Labeling Requirements; HACCP-Based Meat Inspection Models - Revolution and Devolution; Food Product Innovations in Health; and Food Demand and Nutrition Analysis Using Household Micro-Data: Methodological Issues of Demand System Estimation. The free session is Rethinking How Federal Agencies Approach Valuation of Food Safety Risk Reduction.

We have also scheduled the annual Section meeting during the AAEA meetings.

2. Review and amendment of the Bylaws.

After one year of experience, we have a much better idea of what seems to work and what might not work for the Section. The Section's executive committee reviewed the bylaws and has proposed revised bylaws that clarify several procedural and timing issues. The revised bylaws have been circulated to members and will be discussed at the business meeting. A ballot on the revisions will be distributed to voting members following the AAEA meetings.

3. The FSN Section co-sponsored the Resources for the Future Conference on Setting Food Safety Priorities: Toward a Risk-Based System. It was held May 23-24, 2001 in Washington D.C.

Current members of the Section's executive committee are: Helen Jensen (chair); Mario Teisl (chair-elect); Steve Crutchfield (sec.-treasurer); Mary Muth (at-large); and Neal Hooker (at-large). The FSN Section will conduct an election for next year's executive committee prior to the AAEA meetings.

Report submitted by Helen Jensen, Chair, FSN Section