

Graduate Student Section Newsletter

VOLUME 5, ISSUE 2

JUNE 2012

SPECIAL POINTS OF INTEREST:

- Registration for the GSS Case Study Competition closes June 29, 2012!
- Congratulations to the 2012-2013 GSS Executive Committee Members!

Greetings all,

As many of you are aware, the 2012 AAEA Meeting in Seattle is scheduled for August 12-14. The track sessions sponsored or co-sponsored by GSS for the 2012 meeting are:

- How to be a Reviewer
- Job Interviewing Tips
- Organizing and Teaching Courses for Beginners



- Publishing Strategies for IBES Research (Co-sponsored by IBES)
- Using Surveys to Establish a Successful Research Agenda (Co-sponsored by AEM)
- Teaching Tips from Top Teachers: 2011 AAEA Award Recipients (Co-sponsored by TLC)
- Graduate Student Extension Competition Winners Presentations (Co-sponsored by EXT)

In addition to offering graduate students value through track sessions, GSS provides graduate students a platform to compete. Represent your academic institution by competing in a GSS competition. The competitions sponsored or co-sponsored by GSS for the 2012 meeting are:

- GSS Case Study Competition (Co-sponsored by AEM) Registration closes July 11th, 2012
- GSS Extension Competition (Co-sponsored by EXT)

For the GSS Case Study Competition announcement and registration contact Lance Weaver (lance.weaver@okstate.edu). Direct any other questions regarding the GSS Case Study Competition to Dr. Jody Campiche (jody.campiche@okstate.edu).

2012-2013 GSS Executive Committee Members

The election results are in for the 2012-2013 GSS Executive Committee members. The newly elected members are:

Chair-Elect: Brandon McFadden (Oklahoma State University)

Secretary/Treasurer: Beth Nielsen (University of Georgia)

Member-at-Large of Communication: Amanda Simpson (Oklahoma State University)

Member-at-Large of Publicity and Membership Recruitment: **Melissa Lynes** (Kansas State University)

Member-at-Large of Activities: **BillieJo Shae** (North Dakota State)

Congratulations to the elected 2012-2013 committee members! The outgoing committee members are:

Chair: Brian Williams (Oklahoma State University)

Chair-Elect: Lance Weaver (Oklahoma State University)

Secretary/Treasurer: **Alicia English** (Purdue University)

Member-at-Large of Communication: Brandon McFadden (Oklahoma State University)

Member-at-Large of Activities: **Beth Nielsen** (University of Georgia)

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michelle Santiago (Sam Houston State University)

THANK YOU to the outgoing committee members for their service!

What is the GSS

The Graduate Student Section (GSS) of the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) was developed to provide an opportunity for graduate students to come together to foster the professional development through various activities and seminars. The specific objectives of the AAEA-GSS are:

- To promote the professional development of graduate students in agricultural economics and related graduate programs
- To increase participation and involvement of students with both academic and non-academic career goals in the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association
- To provide more opportunities for graduate student involvement at the Annual Meetings and any other related activities of the Agricultural & Applied Economics

How to Join the GSS

Join the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association. The registration fee to join the AAEA is \$25. While registering, indicate your desire to join the GSS by checking the GSS box under the sections portion of your registration form. The fee to join the GSS is \$10. The membership fee for the GSS is located on the AAEA member form and fees are paid through the AAEA.

If you are already a member of AAEA and would like to join GSS, you can do so by logging in to the My Account section and completing the Online Section Form.



Find us on the web @ http://www.aaea.org/membership/sections/gss/

or

Search AAEA-GSS on facebook and join the group to stay updated!

2011-2012 GSS Executive Committee

Chair Brian Williams Oklahoma State University brian.r.williams@okstate.edu

Secretary-Treasurer Alicia English Purdue University alenglis@purdue.edu

Member-at-Large Beth Nielsen University of Georgia bln429@uga.edu

Faculty Advisor
Jody Campiche
Oklahoma State University
jody.campiche@okstate.edu

Chair-Elect
Lance Weaver
Oklahoma State University
lance.weaver@okstate.edu

Member-at-Large Brandon McFadden Oklahoma State University brandon.mcfadden@okstate.edu